Tags

, ,

Hi and welcome to the Library of Erana, a place of words and of their magic. Words are power, they are knowledge and they are freedom.

Welcome to Edward M. Donnelly.

Please tell us a little about yourself.

Thank you for the interview. I am a high school English teacher in Stamford, Connecticut. I have been teaching for 14 years now. I love it because every day is unique. My other passion is writing; it gives me the opportunity to explore my emotions, dreams and observations.

Please tell us a little about your writing – for example genre, title, etc.

I recently published my second book titled, “Out of the Light of Darkness.” It is a collection of short stories and a novella. My first book titled, “Eddy’s Life Poetry” is a collection of poems that tells the story of my life’s most poignant moments so far.

Where can readers find your book?

Readers can find my books at Amazon.com, just Google the titles.

How long have you been writing and what, if anything, made you choose the genre in which you write?

I have been writing since college. I started writing stories to make sense of the world around me. People may laugh or cry, but I hope that I make them feel something. I enjoy short stories because life is made up of fleeting moments. A good story can leave an indelible mark if it is done well.

Who or what are your inspirations/influences?
To be honest, average people inspire me. I love to people watch and listen to stories like a wall flower. Sometimes I feel like a ghost, but I am intrigued by people at bars, coffee shops, and random places. I find inspiration and my imagination runs wild.

Can you name a positive experience from your writing and a negative one?

My creative writing teacher told me that I had talent. She was tough and I respected her. She said everyone has a novel in them. Those words stuck with me. The negative was getting my first rejection letter from a small publisher. It stung a bit; however, I didn’t stop writing. It is part of the process.

With the rise of e-books do you still publish in print as well? Is this medium important and why?

E-books have changed the publishing world. It provides writers with the opportunity to share their ideas with people from all over the world. My books are available in print as well. This medium is still important because some people, like myself, love the smell and feel of a new book. And you can’t dog ear or write comments in an e-book.

Do you listen to music or watch TV whilst you write?

I often listen to musicians that can evoke the emotions that I am trying to describe. I am currently listening to Mumford and Sons. I don’t watch TV because I can’t focus. I get distracted too easily.

Books are important, why is this the case? What can a book provide that say a video game cannot?

Books are important because we connect with each other through stories. Stories help us relate and feel sane. We are stuck with ourselves for life. That can be good and bad. Books give us a break from ourselves and the opportunity to live vicariously through other characters. That can be an enlightening experience. Maybe, that is why “50 Shades of Gray” is so popular.

Video games are like a piece of gum. Once you have savored the flavor, the experience is over. Some words are never forgotten.

Can you give us a silly fact about yourself?

I talk to animals when I go hiking. They are interesting little creatures that make me laugh, especially the chipmunks.

