I was playing spot the film/book here.

Foil & Phaser

It’s Wednesday and therefore “Workshop” day according to the Foil & Phaser calendar. This post isn’t exactly a workshop, but I’m a big fan of TvTropes.org and I came across this: The Grand List of Overused Science Fiction Clichés. It reads like a list of classic Star Trek: The Next Generation episodes in some points, but I think we can all agree that many of the storylines and settings are overused at best. The sight of them in a new story we’re reading or even one we’re writing can elicit verbal exhortations that frighten our significant others. I certainly didn’t make such a cry when I realized I was about to write myself into a version of “It was all a dream.”

Anyway, my question for the group is what overused tropes are you most fond of? How do you think they could be reinvigorated? What spin could be added to some…

View original post 237 more words

