Tags

, , , , ,

Blind Sight Final Front

Hi and welcome to the Library of Erana, a place of words and of their magic. Words are power, they are knowledge and they are freedom.

Welcome to Nicole Storey

Please tell us a little about yourself. Thanks so much for having me on your blog! I live in Georgia with my wonderful husband, two amazing kids, and a plethora of pets. When I am not travelling to magical realms with potty-mouthed pixies or fighting demons, I enjoy gardening, reading and reviewing books on my blog, cooking, and celebrating my favorite holiday all year long – Halloween! LOL!

Please tell us a little about your writing – for example genre, title, etc. I write in two different genres, juvenile fantasy and YA paranormal. My juvenile fantasy series is titled Grimsley Hollow and there are three books so far – The Chosen One, Eve of the Beginning, and The Search for Siren.

In my YA paranormal series, The Celadon Circle, the first book will be released on July 18th. It is titled, Blind Sight.

Where can readers find your book? My books are available on Amazon, Kobo, Smashwords, Sony, and Barnes and Noble websites.

How long have you been writing and what, if anything, made you choose the genre in which you write?

I’ve been writing off an on since I was twelve, but I only became serious about it in 2009 when I started Grimsley Hollow: The Chosen One. I write in the genres I do because that is where my interests have always been. I love anything that can’t be explained. I love spooky old houses and horrific creatures. I love the thought of making up worlds, magic, and mystery.

Who or what are your inspirations/influences? My children are big influences when it comes to my writing. The Grimsley Hollow series came to be because of my autistic son and my daughter. The main character in this series is autistic and is really my son. My daughter plays his sister in the books. Indie authors also influence me with their talents, drive, and friendship.

Can you name a positive experience from your writing and a negative one? The most positive experiences that have come from my writing are when I was signed with my publisher, Inknbeans Press, and all the fantastic authors and fans I have met. Anything negative I try to chalk up to learning the ropes. LOL!

With the rise of e-books do you still publish in print as well? Is this medium important and why? Yes I do and I consider it very important. Paperback and hardback books are the roots of literature. They are how we were first introduced to all of the wondrous places and characters who have stood the test of time. I love the feeling I get when flipping the fresh pages of a new book and the smell that brings back so many childhood memories when a new book was a luxury. E-books are convenient, but they cannot hold a candle to the real thing and never will for me. Books are more than paper and glue – to me, they are the first friends I ever had.

Do you listen to music or watch TV whilst you write? It depends on what is on TV as to whether I can watch while writing. I like spooky stuff to inspire me while writing my paranormal books, so if there is a show on about ghosts or monsters, I will watch. As for music, I love listening to instrumental or I will play the sound of rain on a loop or a thunderstorm on a cd.

Books are important, why is this the case? What can a book provide that say a video game cannot? With a video game, the graphics, rules, characters, etc. are all laid out for kids. They leave nothing to the imagination! With a book, kids can put themselves as characters, make the worlds look like what they want them too, and use their imaginations to dream up more adventures long after the story is finished. Books give kids the keys to so many different avenues. They inspire, educate, and entertain.

Can you give us a silly fact about yourself? I could probably give many! I think the safest to divulge is that I am addicted to coffee and I constantly dream up stories in my head – no matter the situation. It doesn’t matter if I am doing chores, shopping for groceries, tending to flowers…there is always a movie playing in my head.

In closing, I would like to let your readers know that I am planning a book launch for Blind Sight on my Facebook author page and blog on July 18 beginning at 12:00pm Est. time. There will be contests, games, many prizes and free books. I hope to see you all there!

https://www.facebook.com/nicolestoreyfans

BLINDSIGHT is now available on the following links –

Smashwords https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/338156?ref=ALB123

Amazon http://www.amazon.com/Blind-Sight-Celadon-Circle-ebook/dp/B00E04FKUM

 

