Tags

, , , ,

Beekman

Welcome to Joseph Beekman

Please tell us a little about yourself.

Thanks so much for welcoming me!

Well, I have always loved to create and tell stories since I can remember.  I also love to explore…like venturing off into dark forests or the backwoods of places I visit, and really love ghost towns!  It has always been very appealing to me, and a great way for my imagination and inspiration to run wild.  I love music and play the guitar, though just for fun; however, when I was in high school I did play in a garage band that was not too bad.  It was a fun time.  J  But my passion has always been to write stories.

One thing that I hold dear to my heart is my love for animals, most especially the neglected and abused, and the stray, homeless pets and animals.   Supporting the shelters is very important to me, and caring for these animals is something that I firmly believe in and have a limitless heart for. ❤

Please tell us a little about your writing – for example genre, title, etc.

I prefer the Fantasy, Science Fiction, Paranormal genre of writing.  My first published work was a novella titled, A TAIL SPUN.  It is a post-apocalyptic war fantasy concerning the fate of earth and its last remaining species after the fall of humanity.

The LITTLE ORPHAN ANVIL Trilogy is basically a combo of all three of those genres.  It concerns the fate of a forgotten realm threatened by the evil-doings of a dark witch.  An old blacksmith and his anvil-created robot, along with a few colorful companions, venture through many strange lands, facing their own fears and trials as they try to find a way to save the realm from the sinister witch and her sorcery.

THE DRIFTING VOID is a new short story trilogy I recently started.  The first story, which is of the same title and is available, is a paranormal sci-fi story about a ship builder that has fled from an invasion on earth in his self-constructed pod-ship.  Drifting in an endless void of starless space, he must face his own fears and that of the ghostly invaders, known as the “sweepers”, that are hell-bent on cleaning the universe of all life.

I have also published a short collection of poems titled: SHADES IN SHADOWS.

Where can readers find your book?

All of these books can be found through amazon U.S. and U.K., and goodreads, barnes and nobles, facebook  page links.

amazon author’s home page:  http://www.amazon.com/Joseph-Beekman/e/B005G13KJG/ref=ntt_athr_dp_pel_1

*LITTLE ORPHAN ANVIL – THE COMPLETE TRILOGY:   http://www.amazon.com/LITTLE-ORPHAN-ANVIL-Complete-Trilogy/dp/1478121831/ref=ntt_at_ep_edition_1_1

Book One: “A TALE OF MAGIC AND METAL”  http://www.amazon.com/Little-Orphan-Anvil-Joseph-Beekman/dp/1460979796/ref=ntt_at_ep_dpt_2

Book Two: “THE SHADES OF FATE”  http://www.amazon.com/Little-Orphan-Anvil-Shades-ebook/dp/B007CPFFUQ/ref=ntt_at_ep_dpt_8

Book Three:  “THE GRAVELANDS OF FATE”   http://www.amazon.com/LITTLE-ORPHAN-ANVIL-Gravelands-Volume/dp/1477672435/ref=ntt_at_ep_dpt_5

*A TAIL SPUN:   http://www.amazon.com/Tail-Spun-1-Joseph-Beekman/dp/1451547153/

Facebook, Little Orphan Anvil: https://www.facebook.com/LittleOrphanAnvil?fref=ts

Blog: http://josephsstoriesandtales.blogspot.com/2011/09/books-by-joseph-beekman-detailsinfo.html?spref=fb

How long have you been writing and what, if anything, made you choose the genre in which you write?

Since I was little, around 7, 8 years old.

If anything, I’d say it was old monster movies that would televise on shows like “World Beyond” and the “Outer Limits”.

The real “push” into the world of fantasy and science fiction storytelling was when I attended the screening of “Star Wars” in 1977…I was 8 years old, and that film really changed my life and how I saw storytelling.  Also, the book “DUNE” by author Frank Herbert, as well as the “LORD OF THE RINGS”.   Books like those were great inspirations!

Who or what are your inspirations/influences?

Wow…there are so many inspiring and influential people, places, and things that inspire and influence my imagination and writing.

Animals are truly inspiring to me.  Dark disturbing weather is another.  Ancient landscapes, artifacts, artwork, astronomy…

Authors such as Tolkien, Frank Herbert, Anne Rice, Stephen King; and authors like Bram Stoker, Franz Kafka, Ferdinand Celine, Oscar Wilde, Homer, Dante, Bradbury, Hemingway, C.S. Lewis….

Books like, Charlotte’s Web, Chronicles of Dune, Chronicles of Narnia, The Spider and the Fly, The Trial, The Hobbit, IT, Interview with the Vampire…

Also, filmmakers such as George Lucas, Stanley Kubrick, Quentin Tarantino, John Ford, Sergio Leone, Peter Jackson….on and on…

And movies like Pan’s Labyrinth, Lord of the Rings, Susperia, Star Wars, Brave, Blade Runner, 2001, Alien, King Kong, A Trip to the Moon, The Cabinet of Dr. Caligari, Metropolis, Phantom of the Opera, 20 Million Miles to Earth, 300.…

So many!!

Can you name a positive experience from your writing and a negative one?

A positive one would be just the simple fact that I “GET” to be able to publish a book and share it with anyone that would love to read it!

A negative experience would have to be when I start to micro-analyze a story to death – one that I would be working on, and it eventually gets myself and, of course, the story nowhere.

With the rise of e-books do you still publish in print as well? Is this medium important and why?

The rise of ebooks: I have always been a firm believer in print books.  I would read a book in print any day over an ebook.  It makes me feel closer to the story, the fact that I can hold the actual book itself, the smell of the pages, the look of it…everything.  Print books are what I was raised with, and will forever have a place in my soul for them.

However, as an author, I feel that the birth and rise of ebooks has been an essential part in the entire literary process.  They offer the writer the widest possible avenue of promoting and publication, giving one the ability to sell or share their books around the world.  Also, they are inexpensive for the writer as well as the reader, so in that essence the avenue has greatly widened for the exposure of one’s work.

Do you listen to music or watch TV whilst you write?

NO TV.  Music, yes.  I have to have music playing in the background while I write, even while I think or sleep, for that matter!  😉

Books are important, why is this the case? What can a book provide that say a video game cannot?

I believe books are extremely important.  They enable one to dream, to explore, to strengthen their knowledge of the world, of their language, of their writing skills; also in how one speaks and thinks, and even treat one another.  Essentially, they are what life is really all about.  Stories have existed since the age of humanity.  Painted upon the walls of caves or chiseled in stone, they have been carried down through the countless centuries giving us insight into who we are, where we have been, what could be.  They can shed light into what makes so many of us tick, educating us on politics, religions, historical facts, evolution, and so forth.  My favorite thing about books, and why they are so very important, is that they can expand the imagination in limitless form, often times offering us new avenues of possibility and peace.

Can you give us a silly fact about yourself?

Whenever I see a coin lying about, like on a counter top, I have to see if it is tails-side-up – if it is not, then I just have to turn it over so that it is!  Some weird superstitious thing, I guess…and of course, just a little silly! 😉 lol.

