Tags

, ,

Indie block party smallThe fourth activity in the Indie Blog Party is to have an interview with a neighbour in the block. I am very happy to chat with Allie Jean, author of Supernatural Romance.

Author Bio: Allie Jean was born with an overactive imagination. She spent her childhood inventing stories and telling tales. Her mind never shut down, even while she slept. Vivid dreams containing extensive, elaborate plot lines of good overcoming evil villains captured her nightly visions, lingering into her waking hours and filling the pages of her well-loved bounded diaries. She was encouraged by her parents, even at a young age, to write down her tales, and it has remained a somewhat secret hobby. As a busy wife, mother and critical care nurse, Allie’s love of storytelling has been reborn through the adventures of her unforgettable characters. 

Please tell us a little about yourself. I am a registered nurse in a local ICU. I have been a writer since I was very young. With the encouragement of some very good friends of mine, I entered my novel into a competition hosted by The Writer’s Coffee Shop Publishing House and was offered a publishing contract for my series. The rest is history.

Please tell us a little about your writing – for example genre, title, etc. I write a New Adult Supernatural Romance series featuring Chantal Breelan, a girl who has suffered horrific nightmares throughout her life. She was taken from her family at a very young age and doesn’t remember much about her past. She suffers from anxiety due to the dreams, and confides in a shadow that is shaped like a man that sits in her room late at night. She is scared to sleep so feeling like someone is there watching over her gives her comfort. Until the dreams become real, and the shadows reveal a whole new world and the secret to her legacy.

Where can readers find your book? Amazon, Barnes & Noble internationally. Also at through the publishing house, iTunes, Kobo…

How long have you been writing and what made you choose the genre in which you write? I actually write multiple genres, but my favorite is the young adult/new adult supernatural romances. I love the genuine love stories that have to make it through tough times. And I love what this genre has done for the young teenagers today because it has encouraged more readers. Hollywood seems to love this genre as well, if the box office titles are anything to go by.

Who or what are your inspirations/influences? Chantal actually suffers from a lot of the dreams I had as a child. I had night terrors up until I was about 12 years old, and I thought what a better way to use that experience than to make my own series out of it. LOL

Can you name a positive experience from your writing and a negative one? Obviously winning the competition and being offered a contract was pretty awesome. I’d have to say that going through my first edits left me doubting myself as a writer. But it was like giving child birth. All the hard work pays off in the end.

With the rise of e-books do you still publish in print as well? Is this medium important and why? Yes, the house offers paperback versions of our books. I actually prefer a book rather than my kindle because I like the feeling and smell of the paper. It is hard to have a success in sales with paperbacks when the e-book is so much cheaper.

Do you listen to music or watch TV whilst you write? I do a little of both. I’ll put on a movie and watch it sometimes, or watch my kids swim in the pool while I write. Just depends on what I have going on in my life.

What experiences can a book provide that a movie or video game cannot? Books are fuel for the imagination!!! Movies and video games are based on someone else’s imagination, and I love how I can make up the characters in my own mind while I’m reading. I do think it’s cool to see characters come to life on the big screen sometimes, with some exceptions.

What advice would you give new writers?  Write how YOU see it. I was given that advice by author Cassandra Clare and it has helped me so much in my writing. I visualize what scene I’m writing, like on a movie screen, and I write what I see.

Most authors also like to read, what books do you enjoy? Mostly I stick to books in my own genre because I love the romance and enchantment of it. But I do travel outside every once in a while.

Can you give us a silly fact about yourself? Um, I’m double jointed it my shoulder. I can rotate my arms without moving my hands.

If you are having a sale, new book release do please mention it.  Book #2 of the Dreamer Series will be out this October.

If you would like to check out Allie’s book or author pages please look here:

Author Contact Links

Facebook

Twitter

Google+

TWCS

About.Me

Website

Buying Links

Amazon

TWCS

iTunes

Barnes & Noble

 

