An interesting discussion on romance in fantasy.

Creative Writing with the Crimson League

LOVE CHANGES EVERYTHING

The song “Love Changes Everything,” from Andrew Lloyd Webber’s “Aspects of Love,” recently came on my iTunes playlist, and one of the verses really got me thinking about the place romantic relationships hold in fantasy literature: and by this, I mean more traditional fantasy, with sorcerers, mages, elves, dwarfs, witches, dragons, and the like. Urban fantasy with its vampires and werewolves is fine, but I don’t read it, and I’m aware the focus of these stories is often romance (thinking of “Twilight,” for instance.) I’m thinking about fantasy along the lines of “Harry Potter” and “Lord of the Rings,” where love is NOT the major plotline. Here’s the verse that stuck with me:

Love, love changes everything:

Days are longer, words mean more.

Love, love changes everything:

Pain is deeper than before.

Love will turn your world around, and that world will last forever.

Yes love, love…

View original post 569 more words

