Tags

, ,

Please tell us a little about yourself.

My name is Jazmen. I’m a journalism graduate. I’m in my twenties. I don’t have any children but I love my cats πŸ™‚ I live in Georgia but I’m moving back to NYC soon, and I am very excited about that!

On average how many books do you read a month?Β Β What genres do you enjoy? I probably read at the very least 5-10 books a month. I love pretty much all genres but my favorites are Dystopian and Contemporary.

Where do you tend to review? I usually review on Goodreads.com and my blog. I occasionally review on Barnes and Noble and Amazon.

Why do you review – for other readers, for author feedback, for yourself?Β I review for other readers and mostly for myself. I like writing in any capacity.

Are you influenced by other reviews when choosing a book? What other factors influence your choice? I am sometimes influenced by other reviews. It all depends on what exactly is the general reason reviewers didn’t like the book. If I find it justified (bad writing, character build-up, plot, world building etc.) I may sometimes pass on a book.

When reviewing what are the important criteria? Editing? Plot? Β Which factors do you overlook? (if any) When I’m reviewing I’m looking at the book as whole. How well was it written? How did the author do on the plot? Is it interesting? What’s missing? What was good? etc. I will occasionally overlook editing issues if it doesn’t hinder my reading. It would have to be really bad for me to point it out. I understand mistakes are made so I keep that in mind. No one is perfect.

What are your opinions on authors commenting on a review – negative and positive? Authors commenting on reviews doesn’t bother me. It can only harm them not me. Readers can possibly be turned off by authors who comment negatively on a review. It’s just an opinion.

A lot of readers comment about a book with all 4 or 5 star reviews and nothing below as being suspicious. What do you think about this?

Books that have only four or five star reviews are either really good or can be deemed suspicious. Some books are just “wow” and some are just not and it makes me wonder if they’re just lying to assuage the author or if they’re doing a tour or etc. I know of people who will say a book is better than it is just to spare the author. This is not something I agree with but it just makes me aware to not listen to any one opinion but I may listen to several saying the same thing. I MIGHT.

Do you give negative reviews?Β If I find a book “bad” for whatever reason I will review it as such. It is my opinion and I have a right to have one. Just like in publishing companies or even in school teachers/editors will chop your story or papers to shreds. You just deal and fix whatever is wrong.

Do you mainly stick to your preferred genres, or would you consider reviewing outside your comfort zone? I review any genre. If I only read one genre I’m not truly a reader. It’s like never going out of your own neighborhood.

What are your opinions on paid reviews? (Not including a copy of the book for review purposes only).Β If someone is reviewing a book without actually having read the book you’re doing a disservice to the author and the reader. It’s dishonest and I don’t agree with that

Do you deal with reviewing Indie books differently to how you review a mainstream book?Β I treat every book the same I don’t care if Jane Doe wrote it or Jane Eyre. The publisher or lack thereof doesn’t change anything. Every book and every author deserves the same respect.

www.thisgirlreadsalot.blogspot.com

