Tags

, ,

Please tell us a little about yourself.
My name is Lade. I’m from Nigeria. I’ll be 17 in a few weeks. I love to read (obviously). I write. I’m also a makeup artiste and a training photographer.

On average how many books do you read a month? 
I’ll say around 10 – 12

What genres do you enjoy?
I read almost all genres but my favourites are YA, NA, chick lit, mystery, thrillers and humour

Where do you tend to review?
Goodreads http://www.goodreads.com/user/show/9178403-lade
My blog http://WeBlogAboutBooks.blogspot.com

Why do you review – for other readers, for author
feedback, for yourself?

I review because I like to share my opinions so I’ll say for myself and other readers.

Are you influenced by other reviews when choosing a book? What other factors influence your choice?
I read reviews to determine what to expect from a book. If a book has too many negative reviews, I want to read it to know why. Same for positive reviews.

Other things that influence my choice are a fun/strange/weird title and a fun/funky cover.

When reviewing what are the important criteria? Editing? Plot? Which factors do you overlook? (if any)
I think well developed, relatable characters; a good, a well developed storyline and plot are very important to me. I can overlook a few typos and editing errors if the book covers these.

What are your opinions on authors commenting on a review – negative and positive?
I think that authors shouldn’t like or comment on reviews on their books. If they are going to leave a comment, it should be relevant to the review [i.e.Questions relating to problems pointed out by the reviewer or answers to questions raised in the review]. Not just something in the lines of: “thank you for your review”.

Goodreads have just changed their guidelines regarding mentioning an author’s behaviour in a review and there are a lot of unhappy reviewers who feel this is limiting freedom of speech. Do you think it is appropriate to speak about this in a review or are their more appropriate places for this. Does it make a difference to your own choice of buying a book if the author ‘behaves badly’?
I don’t like the new guidelines. What works for me may not work for you.
It’s important to some people to know if the author has a history of harassing people, or is racist or homophobic etc and to others, it’s not.
Just like it may be important for me to know if the clothes I buy are made by child labourers so I know not to support the brand but someone else may not care.

A lot of readers comment about a book with all 4 or 5 star reviews and nothing below as being suspicious? What do you think about this?
There’s no way a book can have all ratings as 4/5 stars. Everyone has different tastes and not everyone will like your book even if it’s a masterpiece.
So yeah, I find it suspicious

Do you give negative reviews?
It depends on how define a negative review. Is it a review bashing the book/author? Then no I don’t.
If it means rating and reviewing a book below 3 stars, then yes I do.

Do you mainly stick to your preferred genres, or would you consider reviewing outside your comfort zone?
When it comes to books, I read most genres.
If the blurb of a book in a genre I don’t like fascinates me, I’d go for it.

What are your opinions on paid reviews? (Not including a copy of the book for review purposes only.) I think it creates an unconscious bias towards the book.
In my opinion, any author who would do this has low confidence in the quality of the book they have published.

Do you deal with reviewing Indie books differently to how you review a mainstream book?
I review all books the same way. I don’t even bother to check which is which until I’ve finished writing my review.

