Tags

, , ,

Beginning #1 Front Cover

Welcome to Abby Vandiver who stops by on a busy blog hop

Please tell us a little about yourself. Well, now I call myself an author and grandmother, but I have been an Economics professor, attorney, wife, and single mother. I love to travel and I love buying things – clothes, furniture, books and then I usually ending up giving them all away so I can buy new stuff. I’ve been told that I’m funny but I can’t seem to make that come across in my books and I’m fifty-five years old. (I love telling my age, happy to still be among the living.) I live in Cleveland, Ohio and right now I’m moving kind of slow and enjoying life.

Please tell us a little about your writing. My writing is fact mixed with fiction. That’s my style. I like taking the truth about things, especially history, and giving my own twist to it. My genre, I guess would be mystery and paranormal because that’s what I enjoy the most. I’m new to writing fiction, so we’ll see how it goes.

Where can readers find your book? My book, In the Beginning, can be found almost anywhere and everywhere, online that is. Amazon, BN, Kobo, Sony, iTunes and Smashwords, just to name a few. All you have to do is Google “Abby Vandiver” and the search engine will lead you right to a site that sells In the Beginning. I’m not in any brick and mortar bookstores right now, but I’m working on it.

How long have you been writing and what made you choose the genre in which you write? I haven’t been writing fiction long. But my years (and years) of schooling and various jobs obligated me to write things like write essays, legal briefs and the like. Fiction writing is so much more enjoyable. I like ghosts, time travel and mysteries. So, that will probably be the genres I’ll stick to, but you never can tell. One thing I can say with certainty is I will never write Romance. I am easily embarrassed over public displays of affection, even other people’s, so I know I don’t have the fortitude to write in that genre.

Who or what are your inspirations/influences?  My mother was, and still is my inspiration and influence in all I do, even though she is no longer still here with me. I loved her strength, her perseverance, and her “mother wit” as she called it. I don’t think anyone or anything could inspire me more.

Can you name a positive experience from your writing and a negative one? When I was in undergrad, I had an English professor who didn’t believe I had written the assignment. She said that if I had wrote it, I should be writing prose, it was that good. But, she said, there were just too many grammatical errors for me to be the author. That was a positive and negative experience for me all rolled up into one. After that, I made a concentrated effort to try and grasp a better command of the English language and improve myself. Also, I learned that I was good at writing and it made me want to write more.

How much research do you do? Tons and tons of it. I research everything for my books. I try to find out the history of what I’m writing about if it’s true and all the general facts about my subject. It’s hard to initially start writing a page in my book because I have to learn so much about it.

With the rise of eBooks do you still publish in print as well? Is this medium important and why? Yes. I still publish in print. I love the feel of a book. I need to flip back through the pages when I’m reading, to re-read passages and to read again what happened. I don’t think that eBooks will ever take the place of print. At least I hope it doesn’t.

Do you listen to music or watch TV whilst you write. The TV or radio is sometimes on but I’m so lost in concentration, I usually don’t know what’s going on. Most times I don’t turn anything on while I write and research.

What experiences can a book provide that a movie or video game cannot? I can’t speak about a video game, I don’t play them. But now that you can rewind a movie and play it at your leisure, there isn’t much difference in the experience you get from a book or a movie. You can get lost in both, be completely absorbed, and hate when it ends. I think that I enjoy a good movie and a good book equally.

What advice would you give new writers? Get someone to read your manuscript for spelling and grammatical errors. It is so hard to find your own mistakes. It’s quite disheartening when you’ve published your book and then go through it and see mistakes. No book is perfect, but I think you should take that extra step to make sure you have as few mistakes as possible.

What are your best marketing/network tips. Join forum groups, post to discussion boards and put your book out there, not only online, in the virtual world, but out in the real world as well. My book was posted on Ereader News Today and so many people bought my book after that that it because an Amazon #1 Best Seller. Another piece of advice I would give is don’t give up.

Can you give us a silly fact about yourself? I am very, and I mean very clumsy. I trip when there is nothing to trip over. I drop things all the time. I’ve been like this all my life and it is not getting better even though I’m aware of it and try to be more careful. It just doesn’t work.

 

Links:

http://www.amazon.com/In-the-Beginning-ebook/dp/B00DPOF6IE/

https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/329208?ref=ALB123

