Tags

, ,

Today I would like to welcome a lady who has become familiar on my blog, Mia Darien. She has been kind enough to be interviewed as a reader, reviewer and now an author.

Please tell us a little about yourself.  Well, let’s see… I’m a former but unreformed and unrepentant New England Yankee, now living in Northern Alabama. I’ve been reading since I was three, reading adult fantasy since I was eleven, and writing since I was fourteen. I’m a stay-at-home mom to a maniacal three year old, and when he allows me, I do the writing thing.

Please tell us a little about your writing – for example genre, title, etc.  I write what I’ve come to understand is “speculative fiction,” but I’ve also heard referred to as “genre fiction.” That is to say, non-literary fiction. I write it all, from fantasy to science fiction, paranormal to romance to erotic romance to horror… If it falls under the “genre” umbrella, I write it. I’m best known, by the maybe six readers who follow me, for the paranormal suspense Adelheid series.

How long have you been writing and what, if anything, made you choose the genre in which you write? Well, as I said above, I’ve been “seriously” writing since I was fourteen, and I write in a lot of genres. As paranormal is my primary, I’ll talk about that one. I was drawn to it as a teenager when I started reading Laurell K. Hamilton and P. N. Elrod. I loved the style (First Person Sarcastic, as I call it) and I loved the vampires and werewolves and all that fun stuff.

Who or what are your inspirations/influences? It’s hard to say, because I really am influenced by all things and inspired by all things. Aside from the many, many authors I’ve read and the specific ones listed above, it’s hard to point to anything specific.

Can you name both a positive  and negative experience from your writing?There’s been a lot of both, as I’m sure there has been for all authors. The easiest to point to are the reviews: the first five star had me dancing on the ceiling, and the first one star rating (rarely get reviews written with those) had me pouting all day!

With the rise of e-books do you still publish in print as well? Is this medium important and why? The importance of the medium is determined by each reader. I like print books still, as much as I like digital ones. I do release my longer works in print, but mainly so I can have my own print copy and for giveaways, etc.,

Do you listen to music or watch TV whilst you write? I usually have the television going. I know a lot of writers prefer music, but I like to be able to hear stories, and dialog, and plots while I write.

Books are important, why is this the case? What can a book provide that say a video game cannot? Well, I have a few favorite video games, so I’ll never go to say that one is necessarily “better” than the other, but they engage very different mental centers. A book naturally requires more imagination. It immerses you in the world because you create it in your own mental eye as you go. Books take more time and effort than a video game, so it’s a delayed pay-off, but it’s important to keep those places in our mind engaged, so books remain important.

Can you give us a silly fact about yourself? Hmm… I still like watching that girly anime “Sailor Moon” sometimes. I have the unedited, subtitled complete series on DVD.

Where can readers find your books? All of my stories–and there’s a few now–are available from Amazon, Barnes & Noble, Smashwords, iTunes, Sony, Kobo…

Mia’s author page: http://www.amazon.co.uk/Mia-Darien/e/B006VVHJVA

http://www.amazon.co.uk/When-Forever-Died-Adelheid-Series-ebook/dp/B00773IPQE

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Camerons-Law-Adelheid-Series-Unabridged/dp/B00ATWU2ZC

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Sub-Rosa-Turnabout-Tales-Darien-ebook/dp/B0093HE2FU/

https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/365419?ref=ALB123

https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/298196?ref=ALB123

