Tags

, , ,

Welcome to B N Toler who stops by on her blog tour.

​​Please tell us a little about yourself. I am a happily married, mother of three crazy, beautiful, wild children. Currently, I stay at home with my kids and write as much as possible, but In the past I have worked as a real estate agent and an orthodontic technician. I love to shop, sing karaoke, but my absolute favorite thing to do is laugh.

Please tell us a little about your writing – for example genre, title, etc. The Healer series is in the paranormal/Fantasy genre, but I am also working on another novel in the New Adult genre as well I’m thinking will be called Chance.

Who or what are your inspirations/influences? Personal influences would be my grandmother, Beebo. She passed away almost six years ago, but she was one of those people that made everyone feel special and like they could conquer the world. I miss her dearly. Writers that inspire me are Karen Marie Moning because she is awesome. I love The Fever Series.

Research can be important in world-building, how much do you need to do for your books? Do you enjoy this aspect of creating a novel and what are your favorite resources? I only did a tiny amount of research for Healer and it was more about Holistic Healers. I will say that for the NA novel I’m working on there is quite a bit of research I’m doing because I’m not world building in this novel. In Healer I made it what I wanted. and in a way it was easier to write.

In what formats are your books available? (E-books, print, large print audio) Are you intending to expand these?  Right now Healer is only available through Amazon in paperback and Kindle because I did some promotion with them. I will be adding it back to B&N in December and Hybrid will be available on both sites as well when it is released in March.

Do you self-edit? If so why is that the case? Do you believe a book suffers without being professionally edited? I do a self-edit prior to sending it to a professional. Yes, I do think a book can suffer without a good edit. When you’ve read a story you’ve written a hundred times, you tend to miss things.

What are your opinions about authors commenting on reviews? I wouldn’t do it unless it was to say thank you for a great review or something like that. It’s hard, but a writer has to understand not everyone will like their work.

Do you listen to music or watch TV whilst you write? Sometimes, but I usually pick something boring like the news or reruns of Duck Dynasty.

What experiences can a book provide that a movie or video game cannot? What a good question. It provides the best imagery because it’s your imagination. I don’t think a lot of readers realize how much we fill in the blanks while reading. An author gives you an idea, but it is the reader that really creates the imagery. So many times I’ve read a book and than watched the movie and it has disappointed me because It was so much better in my head.

What advice would you give new writers? Be prepared to work your ass off getting your book out there, and don’t give up. The best things in life don’t come easy and they don’t come free. Keep writing! It’s easy to get caught up in promotion and forget about working on your next project. Also, reach out to other new authors. Recently I read Bully by Penelope Douglas and I sent her a message on Goodreads telling her how much I enjoyed her book. We started chatting back and forth and she gave me so many tips and cool advice. I also emailed Samantha Young who wrote On Dublin Street and asked  her for advice which she graciously gave. Don’t be afraid to reach out.

What are your best marketing/networking tips? Bloggers! God how I love the bloggers. Especially the ones that will give Indie writers a chance. Word of mouth is the best advertisement. Start early too. Months before release getting the word out about your book! Goodreads has been a great resource for me as well.

Most authors also like to read, what books do you enjoy? I read most everything. I’m not a big fan of YA, but that’s because I like a little hot sex in my books. In the YA genre I loved The Twilight Series and The Hunger Games, I mean who doesn’t like those books? But I stick more to NA, PA, FA, and Romance.

Can you give us a silly fact about yourself? I’m an evil person in the morning. Most likely because I’ve stayed up all night writing, but my husband says I’m like the Kraken in the movie, Clash With The Titans, when I wake up. I don’t think I’m that bad unless someone makes noise, speaks to me, or looks in my general direction before I’ve had my coffee. Then maybe, I might be a little like the Kraken.

Book links, website/blog and author links:

Website:

http://www.bntoler.com

Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Healer-B-N-Toler/dp/1490491961/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1375536068&sr=8-1&keywords=b+n+toler

Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/7150768.B_N_Toler

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/B-N-TOLER/279007692235640

Twitter: https://twitter.com/BNTOLER

