Welcome to Skye Callahan who stops by on her blog tour.

tourbadge (4)

Here’s an excerpt…

“Why don’t you tell us about the box?” Cole said, her voice calm and steady despite the marionette-like stare of Mr. Edwards.

“It’s my box.” He repeated.

“Fine. Alright. It’s your box. I just want to know more about it, like the carvings. Do you know what they are?”

Mr. Edwards cocked his head and squinted at the younger sister. “Carvings are something made by cutting wood. An object or design formed by cutting and shaping a material such as wood or stone—”

Kaylyn had heard enough, but as soon as she took a step forward, Cole glared at her.

“The guy has gone dark. His power ring has faded.” She kept her jaw clenched, wondering how much—if any—of the conversation the man actually understood by now. “Let’s just grab the jewels and get out before his head explodes.”

“There are no explosive devices in my head, Kaylyn.”

She bit her lip, she certainly hadn’t offered her name. “Okay, Mr. Edwards—”

“Gib.”

“Sure….” She choked on her words as the man’s lips turned up into what she assumed was supposed to be a smile. “Gib, what’s going on here?”

“You’re trying to take my box.”

“Yeah,” Kaylyn nodded. This conversation was getting redundant fast. “We got that part. We’re quick like that, you know.”

“I do know. You thought you could find my box and take it away. But, I won.”

“So you did, Gib.” Cole took a step forward, but marionette-man hunkered over the box like it was his heir.

Cole took another step. “Where’s Mr. Edwards?”

“He took a vacation. He’s probably sipping Mai Tais on the shores of Maui right now.”

“That’s a quick trip.”

“Yes, anything is possible when you use your imagination. You two are particularly familiar with that, aren’t you? Losing yourselves in a slightly altered unreality.”

Kaylyn shook her head and stumbled backward. For a dimwit, he definitely had down the creepy intuition and dictionary memorization.

Here’s an interview….

Please tell us a little about yourself. I’ve been coming up with stories for as long as I can remember, and in elementary school I began writing them all down. Ghosts and vampires, have always been my favorite beings to write about. Maybe it was growing up with a grandma who always told me about how she’d always rush home to watch Dark Shadows, and growing up reading and watching anything paranormal that I could find.

When I’m not spending time with the voices in my head, I work in business consulting and hang out with my husband and all of our furry family members.

Please tell us a little about your writing – for example genre, title, etc. Fractured Legacy is my first book. It’s a paranormal urban fantasy novella about sisters who work for a paranormal research organization.

Who or what are your inspirations/influences? I don’t know how to narrow it down, as Rod Serling said, ideas come from “every human experience.” There is potential for inspiration in everything we do, see, and experience, and I find that most of my characters, settings, and events are derived from my cumulative life experiences.

Research can be important in world-building, how much do you need to do for your books? Do you enjoy this aspect of creating a novel and what are your favourite resources? I love doing research. I’m also a historian, so that part of the process comes easily. I like looking to old myths and legends for inspiration.

In what formats are your books available? (E-books, print, large print audio) Are you intending to expand these? My book is available for Kindle and in paperback format. I may expand to other distributors in the future.

Do you self-edit? If so why is that the case? Do you believe a book suffers without being professionally edited? I self-edit after getting comments back from betas, but then I send it to a professional editor. I don’t think that anyone, even a professional editor can do a thorough self-edit because once familiar with our own stories we see what we believe should be there rather than what is actually there. Our brains fill in missing words and gloss over incorrect punctuation. There were at least nine sets of eyes on Fractured Legacy before it was officially released and everyone was able to make a contribution that I wouldn’t have caught on my own.

What are your opinions about authors commenting on reviews? I come from an academic background where open communication was encouraged on all sides, but authors commenting on reviews often seems to be like opening a can of worms. I see reviews as part of a discussion on literature not the end of the line and I can understand that sometimes authors are curious to know more, or understand what they could have done better, and sometimes they just want to show their appreciation for someone taking the time to write a review, but whether or not it’s acceptable depends on the situation, the environment, and the people involved in the exchange.

Do you listen to music or watch TV whilst you write? Sometimes I need background noise, and sometimes I can’t stand it. It might even come in 5 minute segments where I want music on, but 2 songs later I can’t stand the ruckus.

What experiences can a book provide that a movie or video game cannot? Books become a part of every reader’s imagination. They require a person to drop away from the outside world, imagine the people and surroundings, and become fully immersed in a new world. Movies and video games can replicate this to a limited extent, but they provide the audio and visual cues, limiting the brain’s involvement. With books we’re not bound by what can be captured in images and sounds.

What advice would you give new writers? Find a group of writing friends to support your journey. You need a group of people who will give you honest advice and feedback on your work, be around to remind you to stay on track, and listen when you really need to vent.

What are your best marketing/networking tips? Be yourself. It’s about establishing connections with people and making lasting relationships. If you’re being genuine and putting yourself out there to make connections, people will recognize that.

I love the All Souls Trilogy by Deborah Harkness, Chicagoland Vampires by Chloe Neill, and the Greywalker series by Kat Richardson.

Can you give us a silly fact about yourself? I have a stuffed Care Bear collection.

Book links, website/blog and author links:

Goodreads: http://bit.ly/1bw5mqL

Amazon US: http://amzn.to/Hch4xw

Amazon UK: http://amzn.to/1av4Zwp

Amazon CA: http://amzn.to/17U36XG

Skye Callahan

Amazon Author page: http://amzn.to/1gVX96i

Twitter: http://bit.ly/HchK5M   @Skye_Callahan

Google +: http://bit.ly/1939pfs

Wattpad: http://bit.ly/16hi2Sp

Blog: http://skyecallahan.wordpress.com

Facebook Page: http://on.fb.me/Hmwsrp

Pinterest: http://bit.ly/19NyoTs

Goodreads: http://bit.ly/18vzdMP

 

