Tags

,

 

Hi and welcome to the Library of Erana, a place of words and of their magic. Words are power, they are knowledge and they are freedom.  Readers play an important role in the life of books and words, for without readers books would sit unread, unloved and unknown.  What makes a good book, or for that matter a bad one?  Why do people read and how do they find their books?

Welcome to Fiona Jane McVie

Where are you from?  Scotland in the UK but was I born in West Germany due to my father being in the British army.

On average how many books do you read in a month? Between 8 and 9.

Why are books important to you and what does reading bring to your life? For me books are better than TV and they can take you to place you may never get chance go to.

What genres do you prefer and why? I don’t have a favourite. I love all typed of books as long as I have a good story to read.

Do you have a favourite book or author, why do you think you like this book/author so much? There are too great many authors that I like, it would take me far to long to name them all.

My favourite book has to be A Christmas Carol by Charles Dickens, as I was one of the first books I read by myself.

What medium do you prefer – e-books, audiobooks or paper books? Would you care to expand on this? Paper books I love the feel of them and they look great in my book-case.

How do you usually find the books you read? For example: recommendations from friends, promotion on social networks, your local library, following authors you already know? Recommendations from friends and been lucky won a few from some authors which has made me want to read more of their work

When choosing a book what makes you stop and give it a second look?  What makes you turn away? Do you read reviews by others and if so do they influence the choice? Cover and what’s written on the back, I don’t go by reviews as they might not like the book but it does not mean I will not like it.

What are your views on authors commenting on reviews? I don’t read them but yes they can be important to some people when deciding if they want to read the book.

How important is a snappy cover to you? The cover needs to go with the story no point in having a dead body on the cover if it’s a love story.

What is the most important aspect in a book for you? If the writer is going to use facts then they should make sure they are right, also I like a story that flows.

What aspects turn you off from a book? Are there things you avoid? So far I not found a book that’s made me what to throw it away, maybe I have been lucky that way

Do you think bricks and mortar bookshops are in decline? I hope not but with the internet maybe people are using that to buy their books. I love walking around a book shop

Can you give us a silly fact about yourself? I speak German in my sleep but can’t when awake.  I did not know this until a friend stayed one night and taped me, I could not understand a word I said  : D

 

 

 

