Tags

, , , ,

Welcome to the Library or Erana, a place of words, and a place where characters truly live, and leave their worlds to speak with us… their audience.

Today I would like to welcome Dorgo the Dowser.

Tell Us About Yourself

Name (s): Dorgo Mikawber. Aka “Dorgo the Dowser”

Age: Old enough to know better, too young to care.

Please tell us a little about yourself. I was a foundling, raised in an orphanage. But I ran away at an early age and lived on the streets. (That’s a whole other story.) At the age of 15 I joined The Wandering Swords—7th Legion—band of mercenaries. Five years later I retired and settled down in the city of Valdar. I have been a bodyguard, an actor, and a smuggler, to name a few occupations. Then I became a sort of private investigator. I once saved the life of a shaman’s daughter. In thanks, he gave me a special dowsing rod, what many might call a magic wand. It can detect vestigial traces of ectoplasm as well as lingering traces of all forms of magic. It tells me if something is infernal, supernal, or from some alternate-dimensional Otherworld. It helps me solve a lot of mysteries. Can’t explain how the damned thing actually works, but it is a sentient thing, and sort of communicates with me in a telepathic manner. It also affects me spiritually, physically and emotionally, too. Using it is not always a pleasant experience.

Describe your appearance in 10 words or less. Scruffy. Poor. Romantic. Loyal. Flirtatious. Kind. Clever, but not always smart.

Do you have a moral code? If so what is it? I respect everyone, no matter what race, creed, colour, religion, species, country or world of origin. I hate intolerance and bigotry. I hate those who prey on the weak and helpless. I’m a fairly honest chap, but I’m not above bending or breaking the law to solve a case or feather my own nest. Look, nobody’s perfect, right? I have a certain amount of courage and bravery, but I’m no hero. Not by a long shot. I pick my battles and I’m not afraid to cross swords with anyone. I am proud to say that, except in battle and war, I have not had to kill as often as some of my contemporaries have. I’ve slain more demons and monsters of the pit, than mortal men. Of the nasty, wretched villains with whom I’ve dealt, most of those died by misadventure, let’s just say. They usually ran afoul of whatever magic or demons or partners they crossed. I may have been the catalyst, but usually it’s someone else’s sword that slays them.

Would you kill for those you love? Yes. And I have.

Would you die for those you love? Yes. I was a mercenary, remember? I fought for one cause or another, one kingdom or another for five years. And in all that time, I am proud and honoured to say, every cause I fought for was just and noble. Take that for what it’s worth.

What would you say are your strengths and weaknesses? Women are a weakness. Definitely. I love women. I have a thing for women’s lips. I see a great set of lips, I have to steal a kiss. Gets me into a lot of trouble. Now, I’m not sure if you’d consider this strength or weakness, but I seem to get involved in a lot of adventures that don’t pay off in a right monetary fashion. I have a habit of helping people who can’t pay me, so I always find myself hiding from my creditors. I’m embarrassed to admit this, but I’ve been hired by quite a few folks who have run out on me without settling the balance of their bill. I seem to always be waiting for something to turn up, too. You think I should ask for my fee, in total, up front?

Do you have any relationships you prize above others? Friendship is above all. Since I’m an orphan and have no blood-kin, my friends, my comrades are my family. I love them all equally. No wife, no children, no lady-love. But I am most particularly fond of the children of my friends, and look forward to the coming birth of my first godchild. Yes, old Dorgo the Dowser will soon be a godfather.

Do you like animals? Yes, especially dogs, cats and horses. I will not suffer the presence of human animals.

Do you have a family? As I said, I was a foundling, raised in an orphanage. My friends are my family. The world is my home. All men are my brothers and all women there to be loved or feared. Sometimes the two go hand in hand. ***Dorgo smiles***

Can you remember something from your childhood which influences your behaviour? Living and growing up on the streets. I have a special place in my heart for the poor, the destitute, and the dispossessed. My sword, my dowsing rod and my life are always ready to help those in need. I mean, the aristocracy and the oligarchy are, as sure as Hell is overcrowded with damned fools, not going to look out for anyone but themselves and their cronies.

Do you have any phobias? Not really. When you’re a guttersnipe sleeping in alleys and eating garbage in order to survive, you pretty much swallow any phobias you might have.

Please give us an interesting and unusual fact about yourself. I’m a fool for a pretty face. The scar on my left cheek that also creases that side of my crooked nose was won in battle, but I tell people it’s a duelling scar, because that sounds much more romantic to the ladies. Hell is full of heroes, so I try not to take centre-stage all the time; more than willing to let someone else grab the fame and kudos, if you know what I mean. I’m a good soldier, not a commander. I have always done what is asked of me, and I have been known to go above and beyond the call of duty when the chips are down. I have had carnal knowledge of fauns—you know, half-woman, half-deer. I like puppies and babies. My favourite colour is blue, and I have three nipples.

Tell Us About your world

My world is called Tanyime. It is one of an infinite number of Otherworlds in the multi-dimensional cosmos our scholars call the Echoverse. All worlds are an echo of some other world. Tanyime is an echo of your Earth, circa 12th or 13th century France and England. In fact, the Muthologians (Mythicals, in common vernacular) fled your world in the early days of your Holy Roman Empire. They came from Ancient Greece; the pendulum of Time swings differently on our world, so their exodus took place about 700 years ago. They settled in a land of magic and mystery called Khanya-Toth. You might know them as Cyclopes, Minotaurs, Centaurs, and so on. There is a theory that human beings of all races and colours originated on your world, using inter-dimensional gates— magical doorways, mystic portals and arcane windows, as did the Mythicals.

Please give us a little information about the world in which you live. On Tanyime, anything can, and often does, happen. I live in a city called Valdar, and it’s a lovely city in so many ways, but it’s also one tough town. The streets are dirty and mean. In Valdar, women are more dangerous than crossbows. All forms of Odylic Power, what you would call “magic,” are practiced in my world: witchcraft, sorcery, wizardry, and so on. It’s a world of swordslingers, mages, half-human races, and creatures of the night. In my world, demonic entities serve the needs of any witch or magicman who can open a doorway into their domain, their Otherworld. I make it a point to hunt down anyone or anything that poses a threat to my city. I take these things seriously, you know?

Does your world have religion or other spiritual beliefs? Like your world, mine is filled with more religions than there are countries. I was raised by the Estaerine Church, and I guess it’s still part of my core belief system. It’s a lot like your Catholicism in some ways, like Judaism in others. We Estaerines are monotheists. We named our faith after the Staeri, the Angels who serve God. Good Estaerines, unlike me, try to find inspiration from and live in accordance with the Staeri. I have an agreement, an arrangement, a personal relationship with God. What’s between us is between us. I don’t talk about it. It’s private.

Do you travel in the course of your adventures? If so where? Oh, yes. Quite a lot. When I served with the Wandering Swords, I fought in many different lands. I’ve lived in or visited all Seven Kingdoms of the Aerlothian continent; I was born in the Kingdom of Dasheeria, and now live in Valdar, which is the capitol of Rojahndria, one of the Seven Kingdoms. I have done some traveling to the southern realms, and in the eastern portion of my world, an adjacent continent called Ithravodris. I hope one day to travel to Kyenshua, one of the continents far to the east. I’ve even visited several Otherworlds, but those are tales to be told another time.

Name and describe a food from your world. Krechola: snake and spider stew. It smells better than it tastes, but I like it. Of course, we eat beef and chicken and pork and turkey and fish in my world, too. I’m also rather fond of brown beer and especially a new invention: whiskey.

Does your world have magic? If so how is it viewed in your world? As I have previously stated, we have many forms of magic: Black, White and Grey. In many lands it’s tolerated. In others, certain forms, like devil-worshipping witchcraft and sorcerer, are outlawed, and the practice of such is punishable by death. And it isn’t a pretty or pleasant death, either.

What form of politics is dominant in your world? (Democracy, Theocracy, Meritocracy, Monarchy, Kakistocracy etc.) Kingdoms/Monarchies are most common. Matriarchies are next; we call them Queendoms. Theocracies and Oligarchies and some very strange forms of government I can’t understand, much less describe, also exist. I have no idea what this Democracy is that you mentioned. Does it have anything to do with demons? Well, whatever it is, I’m against it.

Does your world have different races of people? If so do they get on with one another? Yes, as I’ve mentioned earlier. Do they get along? Does everyone get along in your world?

Name a couple of myths and legends particular to your culture/people. I’m not well-schooled in such things. We do have a prophecy of a Messiah, a Son of God coming soon. We have werewolves and zombies, vampires and mummies, and at one time, dragons existed, long ago, before they were hunted to extinction. Their flesh was considered quite a delicacy. In a world where the mythological beings from yours walk among and interact with us on a daily basis, well, we here are living inside myths and legends, wouldn’t you agree?

What is the technology level for your world? I know what you call “gunpowder” is, because I knew a chap who invented or discovered it here. An alchemist; he called it “thunderdust.” He’s dead now, and before he died he burned all his notes, to keep his invention out of the wrong hands. No one else, as far as I know, has discovered it. So we haven’t incorporated such things as guns and cannons into our armies—yet. (You may ask how I know of such things, but then that would be giving away future tales.) We do have a clock tower in Valdar, and the printing press has already been invented.

Does your world have any supernatural/mystical beings? Yes, all sorts, from all lands: ghosts and poltergeists, banshees, werecats, ghost dogs and ghost wolves, entities from Otherworlds, and some elder, pagan gods still wandering around. It’s a pretty good mix. What you might call a real melting pot, you know? My God hasn’t manifested in the flesh to become personally involved in our lives, yet, though he will answer prayers. The Staeri, his Angels rarely get personally involved. They guide and advise and direct by inspiration, through dreams and through prayer.

Say, you’re quite pretty. You have very kissable lips. ***Dorgo winks***
*****

Author notes:

Book(s) in which this character appears.

Mad Shadows: The Weird Tales of Dorgo the Dowser

http://www.tinyurl.com/kawp238

A new Dorgo the Dowser novella, “The Book of Echoes,” has recently been published in the Kindle-only anthology, Azieran: Artifacts and Relics. Extreme Sword and Sorcery.

http://www.tinyurl.com/lh3tolh

Author name: Joe Bonadonna

Website/Blog/Author pages etc.

Blog: http://www.dorgoland.blogspot.com

Amazon Author Page: http://www.amazon.com/Joe-Bonadonna/e/B009I1KYIK

