Tags

, , , ,

lawlesslove_w7876_300 loveland_w6692_300

Welcome to Andrea Downing

Please tell us a little about yourself.   I’ve spent most of my life in the UK, only returning to NYC, the city of my birth, in 2008.  While living abroad, most of my family vacations were taken out west on ranches.  I love the west and now trade, as often as possible, the city canyons for the wide open spaces of the American West. Somehow or other I’ve managed to set all my writing thus far out there as well–Texas, Wyoming, Colorado…   Love it!

Please tell us a little about your writing – for example genre, title, etcLoveland, a western historical romance, has been out since August, 2012, and I have another story, Lawless Love, which came out in Sept 2013–also a Western historical.  In addition to that I have a contemporary women’s lit. novel, Dances of the Heart,  currently awaiting edits –set in Texas and New York and a few other places, as well as a western historical novella, Dearest Darling.  That’s part of The Wild Rose Press Love Letters series and is also awaiting edits.  I love writing love stories and I love writing about what makes people tick.

Where can readers find your book?  At my publisher, The Wild Rose Press (http://www.wildrosepublishing.com/maincatalog_v151/index.php?main_page=index&manufacturers_id=991) and Amazon ( http://www.amazon.com/Loveland-Andrea-Downing/dp/1612173233) and Barnes and Noble (http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/loveland-andrea-downing/1112486451?ean=2940014874021) and a few other places on line.

How long have you been writing and what, if anything, made you choose the genre in which you write? I didn’t choose the genre, the genre chose me!  I’ve been writing since I was a child and it seems I always end up with a romance–a love story.  I like happy endings!  As for the western side, this just came naturally to me after spending so much time out west and being totally immersed in the whole culture.  When I came back from the UK I discovered that the British owned most of the large cattle companies that came into existence after the Civil War.  It all just fell into place for Loveland.

Who or what are your inspirations/influences?  When I’m out west I feel a certain energy I don’t get from being in New York.  You see all that sky and space and you just feel like you could conquer the world. And then there are the mountains…who could not be inspired by all that?

Can you name a positive experience from your writing and a negative one?  Well, there are lots of positive experiences.  One is that I’ve made a huge bunch of new and fascinating acquaintances and friends with similar interests to my own.  They energize me and inspire me and keep the grey matter going.  The other positive experience is that I have a bit more self-confidence.  It took me ages to get the nerve to send my work out to a publisher and now it’s not only published but has had some great reviews.  As for the negative, I now have to be involved in doing things like promotion that I really don’t care to do.   I see it as a time-suck from the writing.  I hate it.

With the rise of e-books do you still publish in print as well? Is this medium important and why? Loveland is out in  both print and digital.  There has been a lot in the press recently that the purchase of ebooks is peaking and that there will always be a place for print books, and I agree with that.  For traveling, nothing beats an e-reader these days with so many restrictions on baggage etc.  I used to travel with about 9 books in my case; can’t do that anymore!  But I still prefer reading a paper book with which I can easily glance back at previous pages and strum through.  Yup, paper is still important.

Do you listen to music or watch TV whilst you write?  Absolutely not.  I give my full attention to the world I’m creating and can’t have any distractions from that.

Books are important, why is this the case? What can a book provide that say a video game cannot? I’ve never played video games other than, perhaps, Tetris.  I think books provide escapism along with education that video games perhaps do not.  And there’s a peace to curling up with a good book, a sense of losing yourself for a while, while video games churn you up more.  That’s my take…

Can you give us a silly fact about yourself?  I’m thinking hard about this one, Alexandra.  My daughter tells me I AM silly but there’s no one fact…

Thanks so much for having me here today!

http://andreadowning.com

