Tags

, , , , , , ,

Welcome to B.D.Hawkey

Please tell us a little about yourself. I was brought up on a farm in rural Cornwall . When I was 17 I left home and started my nursing career, which lasted 25 years. I worked in an intensive care unit, minor injury unit and later as a health visitor. I had the privilege of being part of a person’s life during the most traumatic, frightening or uplifting time in their lives. After 25 years I changed career which has given me more time to write. I am married with two grown up children and two very happy dogs.

Please tell us a little about your writing – for example genre, title, etc. Old Sins, Long Shadows is a Victorian romance set in Cornwall, England. It is about a young woman who begins a journey of self discovery and falls in love for the first time. However there are people in her life who want to do her harm and their actions have far reaching effects. It’s about abuse of power and how jealousy and idle gossip can have devastating results.

Who or what are your inspirations/influences? I love Cornwall and I’m very proud to be Cornish. It is very easy to be inspired by the beautiful country side, historical buildings and the Cornish people themselves.

Research can be important in world-building, how much do you need to do for your books? Do you enjoy this aspect of creating a novel and what are your favourite resources? My father is a great source. He loves to talk about the past and he has given me many things that his mother used to have. I have a mangle, a cheese press, a butter churn and oil lamps including a Victorian horse plough! In my book there is a Victorian gaol, a Victorian Court House and a stately home. I have visited these buildings which are open to the public in Cornwall. I have seen the Victorian cells and walked through the Victorian kitchens. It makes writing about them very easy.

In what formats are your books available? Are you intending to expand these?Old Sins, Long Shadows is in print and kindle format. I’m interested in the audio version, I think my book would be good in that format but I don’t know how to achieve it.

Do you self-edit? If so why is that the case? Do you believe a book suffers without being professionally edited? I self-edited and then I passed it to two other people who also edited it. They were very good, but I did not pay them. I was advised by an agent to edit on paper and not just on the laptop. So I did, over and over again. It was amazing how many things you pick up. Next time I might have it professionally edited as it is not the part of writing I enjoy.

What are your opinions about authors commenting on reviews? I’m not sure. I think if the review is good it might be considered okay to say thank you. If it’s bad then perhaps I would maintain a dignified silence while I cry into a pillow.

Do you listen to music or watch TV whilst you write? No, I need silence. I like to walk the dogs while I am thinking about what I will write but when I am writing I need to be by myself in a quiet room.

What experiences can a book provide that a movie or video game cannot? The reader can experience what is going on in the character’s head; his/her thought processes, their insecurities, their understanding of the situation and their sensations. Personally I feel like I am in the story more than a film. I don’t play video games; I’m not quick enough on the controls and usually end up dying, crashing and losing.

What advice would you give new writers? Write about what you know. Write a little bit nearly every day. Write a story you would want to read and if you really believe it is a good story, be its advocate or your characters will never be free from your computer for others to meet.

What are your best marketing/networking tips? Facebook has been very helpful with support and marketing, particularly groups specifically for authors which can give advice to new authors.

Most authors also like to read, what books do you enjoy? I enjoy Winston Graham’s Poldark books. I enjoy historical romance the most which is why I chose to write it.

Can you give us a silly fact about yourself? When I was in my 30’s, and I thought no one was looking, I went on a tall children’s slide. My dress got caught on the slide at the top, by the time I reached the bottom my dress had torn all the way down the side seam. I had to walk home with one hand holding my daughter’s and the other holding my dress together. It was very embarrassing and I have not been on a slide since!

Book link:- http://www.bdhawkey.com/books.html

Website link:- http://www.bdhawkey.com/
Book Trailer:- 
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ht-o-QH7Cuk
Facebook page:- https://www.facebook.com/BDHawkey
Goodreads book page:- https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/18324816-old-sins-long-shadows

Goodreads author page:- https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/7219364.B_D_Hawkey

