Tags

, , , , , , ,

Tell Us About Yourself

Name (s): Archos Terrian Stormrager, Lord of Tremellic, Lord of the Storm, Archmage of the Arcane Realms and Skychild. I am the Oncoming Storm.

Age: Well now, I was born sometime before the war which brought Erana to its knees, during the time of the Plague. That was long ago, but the years pass and run into one another and so I am not entirely sure.

Please tell us a little about yourself. I am a mage, a man of magic. My kind are forbidden, yet here we are. I am Lord of Tremellic Valley, and the last Skychild who walks this land.

Describe your appearance in 10 words or less. Blonde, goatee beard, silver-grey eyes, and tattoos if you know where to look.

Do you have a moral code? If so what is it? Ah morality is such a fluid term is it not? One man’s moral code is another’s crime.  I suppose defend those who have no recourse to defence and destroy those who bring slavery and misery to the land.

Would you kill for those you love? Of course, and I have.

Would you die for those you love? Without question.

Do you have any relationships you prize above others? Why? My lady, Dii’Athella, she is wonderful. Magic is a lonely art to those who do not understand what price it asks. She is so much more than I deserve. She is also the most desirable creature I have ever met, her beauty is like the summer sun. Her talent in the bedroom…well that is none of your concern…

Then there is Olek, my faithful Olek. He is so much to me – a friend, a servant and a brother. He is my right hand and know more about me than anyone living; there is Ozena, a young elven scout who came to me desperate and afraid for her sister and her kin. Much has happened since then, she is not the naïve child she was. She has talent, and she stands up to me. Not many do. There are those I trust, those who has served me in one way or another and earned my respect and protection. We have enemies and they are legion but those who fight with us are my family and my people.

Do you like animals? Do you have any pets/animal companions? I love horses. We have a paddock filled with them, far more than I need. My favourite, Storm, is a warhorse who fears nothing. He is proud, he is strong and he suffers no fools. Horses are so much better than people, and so much more forgiving. Mine are rather indulged, I have to confess. Now we have Ethnii, a Spirit Raven.  The housekeeper has a few goats and birds for milk and eggs.

Do you have a family? Tell us about them. I have a daughter, a half trollish girl. She is very much her mother’s daughter, independent, clever and talented. Troll women run their societies, she will be Shaman of her tribe one day. My parents and siblings are long dead. My brother was murdered and longevity is my blessing and my curse. My mother, my real mother…is not she who raised me. That is a long story. Of course there are Olek, Ozena and Dii.

Can you remember something from your childhood which influences your behaviour? How do you think it influences you? We were hunted, magic is forbidden and elves and mages blamed for the spread of the Plague. Even noble born and rich as we were armed soldiers followed us. I was lucky in that our friends sheltered us. I recall my step-mother crying, afraid and cold as we fled yet another place of refuge. To be blamed and feared for something as decimating as the Plague, which brought down high and lowborn alike and those with and without magic is a life-changing event. We could never live as others live.  Even now I must lie, I must hide and the bribes we pay for peace are high.

Please give us an interesting and unusual fact about yourself. I have a lightning bolt tattooed just below my….

Tell Us About Your World

Please give us a little information about the world in which you live. Tremellic is beautiful, nestled between mountain, forest and river. It is safe, at least for now and I ensure it is so. Yet we are watched, we live on edge and we wait for the attack to come. Erana itself? It is dark, it is afraid and it is cowed. The Order of Witch-Hunters keep it so.

Does your world have religion or other spiritual beliefs? If so do you follow one of them? Officially no. There is no state religion yet there are many who believe in the spirits and gods of old. Even among the Witch-Hunters they nod those whose power is beyond that or mortals, but they rarely admit it.  Do these gods exist? Of course, I have seen them. Yet they too hide, for magical creatures must, even gods, in a world where magic is forbidden. The elves have their own gods, spirits and nymphs of forest and river, and the trolls share some but not all.

Do you travel in the course of your adventures? If so where? I travel on occasion but with care. I have the advantage – I am a ‘passer’ and I look human and thus do not draw as much attention as an elf or half-elf might. I am also rich and influential. This counts for a great deal. I have travelled the world over, some buy choice and some not. My lady, Dii’Athella cannot travel. Elves are slaves at best and she had no rights, no remit to law and as she well knows is prey to any who decide it.

Does your world have magic? If so how is it viewed in your world? Yes, as I have said there is magic. Officially it is illegal, forbidden and punishable by imprisonment or death. But how can you outlaw something which simply is? There are those who have magic and will continue to have magic whether law states it must not be so. Men make laws, the gods and nature bring magic and their will is far greater and far less foolish.

What form of politics is dominant in your world? (Democracy, Theocracy, Meritocracy, Monarchy, kakistocracy etc.) In the human lands the Order of Witch-Hunters ‘rule’ or at least they think they do.  You would call it martial law, yet it has been so for 300 or so years.

Does your world have different races of people? If so do they get on with one another? The humans fear and mock the elves, many elves are kept as slaves. The trolls stick to their mountains, they too have magic but the Order seen less keen to fight with those who are strong, skilled and warlike. Most humans do not see the trolls. For that matter they do not see the elves either, at least not as people. Ignorance causes fear, and fear causes hatred.

Does your world have any supernatural/mystical beings? Please tell us about some. Officially there are none. Unofficially there are elementals, spirits, nymphs. I have a demon who inhabits my staff and obeys my will. There are familiars for those who can use them. There are even dragons, but they are very rare.

Author notes:

Book(s) in which this character appears plus links:

The Light Beyond the Storm Chronicles http://www.amazon.com/Light-Beyond-Storm-Chronicles–ebook/dp/B0088DQO9C

The Shining Citadel http://www.amazon.com/The-Shining-Citadel-Chronicles-ebook/dp/B00D4CF6W8
Author name: A. L. Butcher

Alexandra Butcher is a British author of the Light Beyond the Storm Chronicles series and several short stories in the fantasy and fantasy romance genre.  She is an avid reader and creator of worlds, a poet and a dreamer. When she is grounded in the real world she likes science, natural history, history and monkeys.

Website/Blog/Author pages etc.

Blog: https://libraryoferana.wordpress.com/

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/6430414.A_L_Butcher

Twitter:@libraryoferana

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/DarkFantasyBeyondTheStorm

https://libraryoferana.wordpress.com/the-light-beyond-the-storm-chronicles/

