Tags

, , , , ,

Welcome to Rita Lee Chapman

Where are you from and where do you live now? I live in Queensland, Australia.  It’s hot and beautiful.  I live near the sea, so the breeze is always wecome.

Please tell us a little about your writing – for example genre, title, etc. I have two self-published books, Missing in Egypt, which is a romantic travel mystery and Winston – A Horse’s Tale which is for horse lovers from teenagers upwards.

Missing in Egypt is about an Australian working for a Member of Parliament who falls in love with a constituent.  She travels to Egypt with him to look for his brother, who has disappeared whilst on holiday.  It contains vivid descriptions of Egyptian sites and temples.

Winston – A Horse’s Tale is told by Winston himself and tells of his life in Australia and the different people and horses he meets along the way.

Do you have a favourite character? If so why? Winston – a horse of course!

Are your characters based on real people? No, my stories are purely fiction but I try to include some real places and facts to give them some realism.

Is there a message conveyed within your writing? There was in Winston – A Horse’s Tale, because I am trying to put across the horse’s point of view in understanding our demands and expectations.

In what formats are your books available? (E-books, print, large print audio) Are you intending to expand these? (If applicable) Missing in Egypt is available as an e-book, paperback and large print edition.

Winston – A Horse’s Tale is available as an e-book and a paperback.  I would be happy to do a large print edition if there is sufficient interest.

Do you self-edit? If so why is that the case? Do you believe a book suffers without being professionally edited? Yes, I do self-edit, although I can see the advantages of using a professional editor as you tend not to see your own mistakes, whereas other peoples are always obvious!

What are your opinions about authors commenting on reviews? How important are reviews? A review should always be honest and unbiased, whoever is doing it.  The fact that we all have different tastes can make it hard to know whether a review is helpful to you when choosing a book.

What three pieces of advice would you give to new writers? Edit, edit and edit!

What are your best marketing/networking tips? Publish in paperback as well as an e-book.  It gives you more options and you can’t beat the feeling of seeing your book in print.  Join Goodreads and do a giveaway promotion; have your own website.  My website has a Guest Author page so if anyone would like to be featured they can contact me through http://www.ritachapman.com.

Most authors also like to read, what books do you enjoy? What book(s) have you just finished? I enjoy romance, thrillers, mystery, autobiographies and books about animals.  I love Australian authors Kate Morton, Bryce Courtney, Colleen McCullough as well as Fiona Walker and Jeffrey Archer.

I’ve just finished a Reader’s Digest Select Editions book featuring The Loop by Nicholas Evans, The Kremlin Device by Chris Ryan, Somebody’s Baby by Elaine Kagan and The Coffin Dancer by Jeffrey Deaver.  I’m a big fan of the Reader’s Digest Select Editions and also Encounters (which are true stories).

Can you give us a silly fact about yourself? I still think I look as I did when I was thirty – I don’t know whose face it is looking back at me in the mirror!

Book links, website/blog and author links:

Winston – A Horse’s Tale

Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00G9QOZGE

Smashwords: https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/372140

Missing in Egypt

Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Missing-in-Egypt-ebook/dp/B007JOUIIE/

LARGE PRINT EDITION: http://www.amazon.com/Missing-Egypt-Rita-Lee-Chapman/dp/149121872X/

Smashwords:  http://www.smashwords.com/books/view/263417

Website: www.ritaleechapman.com

Facebook: rita.chapman@facebook.com

Smashwords interview: https://www.smashwords.com/interview/RChapman1

 

