Tags

, , ,

Tell Us About Yourself

Name (s): My name is Sarah Talmaiz.

Age: I’m eighteen years old at the beginning of the book, Sarah’s Spaceship Adventure.

Please tell us a little about yourself. I was born in a medium sized city on the planet of Marl.  I am (was) an average student, and I would have graduated from high school if I had managed to turn in my last month’s homework. I still blame Pall for that.

Describe your appearance in 10 words or less. Medium height, weight.  Long auburn hair.  Medium brown skin tone.

Do you have a moral code? If so what is it? Moral code?  What the shirit is a moral code?  I have morals, sort of, and I know the codes to our ships.  I’m just an average girl trying to have a happy life and do what’s right when I can figure out what that is.

Would you kill for those you love? Oh, yuck.  Yes, probably.

Would you die for those you love? I’d rather live for those I love.

What would you say are your strengths and weaknesses? I’m great at packing.  I can easily figure out what items need to be close to other items so we can combine them in the most cost efficient manner.  And I know Marlen female preferences, so that’s a real plus when it comes to creating new products to sell.  And I’m a good pilot no matter what the others say.  And I’m a good driver, both on Marl roadways and on the rocky terrain of Half Shell.  I’ve never dented a Rover, unlike some guys I know.

Do you have any relationships you prize above others? Well, Pall Swiftcar, of course, and the rest of the crew.

Do you like animals? I don’t know any animals.  When I lived on Marl I went to the Zoo now and then, but here in the Hoop they are very rare.

Do you have a family? I don’t have siblings, but I have my parents. My mother’s name is Ruth, and my father is Jakub. And then there is Pall, Tai, and Pai, my shipmates.  I love all of them.

Can you remember something from your childhood which influences your behaviour? When I was eleven I was at a birthday party.  Some of us snuck down to the basement and played Switch-our-Socks, a kissing game.  I’ve liked boys ever since then, and I started sneaking around to see them.  That’s what got me in the predicament I found myself in.

Do you have any phobias? The sight of old naked people gives me the shirits.  I mean, I get it.  The Hoop has different customs than do the Marlens.  But really, there are limits.

Please give us an interesting and unusual fact about yourself. I was kidnapped and almost sold to the slave market on Agsha.  Maybe that’s more interesting than it is unusual, unfortunately.

Who are your friends?  Tell us about them. I mostly lost track of my friends from Marl.  I do have a crew who live on Silica.  That’s where the Great Mall is.  I love to shop there.  Edsson is planning to join the Marl Space Police, because he hates the slave trade.  Jommie is nice, and he’s a good dancer.  Bekee is okay, even if she did kiss Pall once.  I’ve forgiven her for that.  Mostly.  Zuzy lives on Next Stop.  She’s a sales clerk in this great store that has the most amazing clothes.  Daysee lives on Boutique where they have the highest flowing shoes in the solar system.  We have an exclusive contract with them, so I get the shoes at a discount.

Tell Us About Your World

Please give us a little information about the world in which you live. This is easy.  I just checked for the info on my personal rom.  I live in a solar system with two planets and a humongous asteroid belt that we call the “Hoop.”  Junior is the gas giant, and Marl is the habitable planet.  Marl rotates round its axis every twenty five hours and revolves around our star, Saif, every four hundred days.  There are ten months in a year, fifty weeks in a year, and five weeks in a month.  There are eight days in a week and forty days in a month.  The average distance from Saif to Marl is one hundred million miles, and the average distance from Saif to Half Shell is one hundred eighty million miles.  Marl has two continents surrounded by oceans.  I don’t know how many rocks are inhabited, but I know there are thousands of them and a lot more that are uninhabited.

Does your world have religion or other spiritual beliefs? If so do you follow one of them? Please describe (briefly) how this affects your behaviour. I’m too young to take any of that seriously.  My parents are Church of Marl, but they only go occasionally.  Like most people, they believe that the Great Captain is just a myth.  Pai is a true Captainist.  The Captainists believe there is an actual, real Earth.  They claim that the Great Captain was a real person who brought humans from Earth to Marl.  Tai doesn’t believe in any of that.  She says that humans evolved on Marl.  The people on the Empire of Man rock believe in the Great Captain, too, but they also believe that women are “lesser beings.”  Stupid twitches.  I believe in religion to the extent that I recognize the importance of church weddings.

Do you travel in the course of your adventures? If so where? Are you kidding me?  Travel is all I ever seem to do.  You’d think we could stay for a while on one of the nicer rocks like Silica or Boutique, or even Mackenzie’s Rock.  Not a chance.  Have to catch the next launch window for the next rock.  Space is big, and it takes us a long time to get from one place to the next.

Name and describe a food from your world. Okra.  It’s grown along the coast of Marl.  The Hoopers don’t know that, so we usually jack up the price by claiming we grow it hydroponically.  Okra takes up a lot of room, so it’s not economical to grow on the rocks, but it’s very nutritional, so it’s in high demand.

Does your world have magic? If so how is it viewed in your world? At the risk of annoying my parents, I will say that the only magic in our world is the kind that Pall Swiftcar and I make in the privacy of our room.

What form of politics is dominant in your world? (Democracy, Theocracy, Meritocracy, Monarchy, Kakistocracy etc.) I’m not sure.  I mean, lots of cities are democracies, even though some of them are totally influenced by rich people who help their sons get away with molesting an innocent girl who just snuck out of her house to take a quick suborbital trip with who, she thought, was a decent guy.  Other cities are ruled by dictators or by one-party organizations.  The Empire of Man is a theocracy.  A lot of rocks don’t have any kind of government.

Does your world have different races of people? If so do they get on with one another? I’m sorry, but I don’t understand the question.  We do have competitive speed contests.

Name a couple of myths and legends particular to your culture/people. The most common myth on Marl is that of the Great Captain.  This myth states that people did not evolve here on Marl, they evolved on the heaven of Earth.  Supposedly something happened on Earth (there are various calamities suggested by many different sects).  The Great Captain gathered the people into a giant spaceship, one that had the supernatural power to travel between stars.  The Great Captain travelled to Marl and left the people at the place we call “Landing.”  Marl became the new home of humans.

The most common variation of this myth is the belief held by the Captainists that the Great Captain was a real person and that Earth is a real place.  This belief holds that the Great Captain will return someday and take all the good people back to Earth which will have been restored to its original beauty.

What is the technology level for your world/place of residence? What item would you not be able to live without? Well, everybody has access to technology, so it’s pretty well level.  The long-riders are the only spaceships that can reach Junior economically, and they are expensive, so only corporations buy them.  The plasma ships can be purchased by the rich or by groups of people.  The freighter Pall was piloting when he rescued me uses a common plasma engine, and he, Pai, and Tai are not rich at all.  Reggardi’s space yacht uses a chemical rocket, but it’s a special design and super plush inside, so I’m sure it was super expensive, even if it is only for Low Marl Orbit.  Too bad he turned out to be such a twitch, but he hadn’t, I would not have met Pall.

The item I could not live without would be my rom, of course.  Who could live without it?  You couldn’t call anyone, or text anyone, or look up where to buy really cool shoes.

Does your world have any supernatural/mystical beings? Please tell us about some.

I hope not.  It’s hard enough dealing with the real ones.

Within your civilisation what do you think is the most important discovery/invention? I guess it depends on whether the artefacts on Half Shell are real or fake.  If they are real, then the whole history of Marl will change.

Name three persons of influence/renown within your society and tell why they are influential (Could be someone like Christ/Mandela/Queen Elizabeth or a renowned figure from a non-human/fantasy world.) Sorry, I didn’t do that well in history.  Mostly Dees.

 

Author notes:

Book(s) in which this character appears plus links

Sarah’s Spaceship Adventure

Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Sarahs-Spaceship-Adventure-Mackenzies-Rock-ebook/dp/B005MFL08O/

Barnes & Nobel: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/sarahs-spaceship-adventure-stan-morris/1106549546

iTunes: https://itunes.apple.com/us/book/sarahs-spaceship-adventure/id470209110?mt=11

Smashwords: https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/87949

 

Author name

Stan Morris

https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/2884264.Stan_Morris
Website/Blog/Author pages etc.

https://sites.google.com/site/stanandrene/

