Tags

, , , , , ,

Firstly I am not sure I am doing this right, but here I go.

A few weeks ago an author/blogger I know asked me if I wanted to be involved with the chain blog hop. Basically she posts and tags several people and they tag others they know and so on. We discuss our own writing processes and pass the baton.

Here are the questions:

What am I working on? As usual I have several projects on the go.  Mainly Book III of my series – The Light Beyond the Storm Chronicles. Presently it doesn’t have an official title but hopefully will do so soon. So what is this one about? The series is dark adult fantasy/fantasy romance with a touch of erotica set in the world of Erana. The events of Book III follow on from Book II – the Shining Citadel, however the focus is on a slightly different set of characters – namely the trolls. Talfor, the warrior lord from Book II, plus a couple of other Book II characters, including the briefly mentioned Mirandra Var, the Shaman’s daughter, set out to find the ancient ruin far across a distant valley and discover what has happened to their kin. Of course it is not that simple. What they find is not what they expect and the revelations will link back to Book II and the over-arching plot of the series. Archos, Dii and the others feature as more side characters, working on what they’ve found out but will still play an important role and will feature again in later books. 

Apart from trying to finish this novel I am working on several short stories. Hopefully I will have a short fantasy story in the follow up to Wyrd Worlds, plus a poem or two in the summer Indie Collaboration. I’m also co-writing a fantasy story with my good friend Diana to feature in a fantasy anthology later in the year. Co-writing is so much fun, so long as all the writers agree on what is needed. I am so happy to be working with Diana on this project.

There may also be another short anthology of Tales of Erana, but this is only in the planning stage.

How does my work differ from others of its genre? That is a good question. A lot of fantasy has rather sterile characters, or at least the relationships between the characters isn’t explored. My books are fantasy, but more than that the characters are passionate, in some cases volatile, and their interactions offer some light in the largely dark world. Oh and then there’s the sex. My characters are, as I’ve said, passionate and the sexual scenes are part of who they are. These scenes don’t overwhelm the plot but they are an important aspect of the characters. I like to think my books are sensual fantasy. 

Then there are the tropes – turned about. Yes I have elves but they aren’t immortal, they are slaves and generally are treated pretty badly. There are trolls too, but they aren’t ugly, stupid or live under bridges. They are cultured, intelligent and rather mysterious. 

Why do I write what I do? Because there are stories which want to be told. I’ve always written stories or poetry and I love to read. I thought I give something back for all those wonderful books I’ve read.

How does my writing process work? I’m a pantser. I have an overarching plan for the series but individual books tell me what they need as I go. I usually know the ending, if not the finer details and obviously the characters.  I tried to plan, and every time I change the plan. I do have several folders of notes and ideas however, both for past stories and future. Some will get used, many won’t.

The short stories are slightly different, for me at least there is a lot less planning. Two which feature in Tales of Erana came out of lore told in Book II. Usually I think of something when I can’t write it down! Like when I’m in the bath….

A brief mention for the one who tagged me…Jo Barker has been writing short stories for many years as a hobby and has now finally published with The Adventures of the Frog Prince.

Her stories take you on weird and wonderful journeys using a combination of fantasy and strange facts that makes the narrative more engaging.

At the moment she is writing children’s tales but there are plans for other books.

You can join my blog here http://www.jrbarker.info/my-blog/

You can follow me on Twitter

or

Find me on Facebook

I tag – Victoria Zigler is a blind author of children’s fiction and poetry.
She has a very vivid imagination, and spends a lot of time in
fictional worlds; some created by her, others created by other
authors.  When she remembers to spend some time in the real world,
it’s mostly to spend time with her hubby and pets, though sometimes to
indulge in other interests such as doing crafts, listening to music,
watching movies, playing the odd figure game or roleplaying game, and
doing a little cooking and baking.  Victoria was born in the shadow of
the Black Mountains in Wales, UK, has been writing since she knew how,
and became a self-published author in 2012.

Blog: http://ziglernews.blogspot.com

And Laurel A Rockefeller

Laurel A. Rockefeller was born and raised in Lincoln, Nebraska where
she received her bachelor of arts from the University of Nebraska at
Lincoln in writing, psychology, and medieval and Asian history. In
2009 she joined Yahoo Voices where she writes non-fiction articles
covering a broad range of topics. In August, 2012 Laurel launched the
Peers of Beinan medieval science fiction series with book one, “The
Great Succession Crisis,” book one of the Anlei’s Legacy trilogy. In
March 2014 she launched the “Legendary Women of World History” series.
Laurel currently lives in western Pennsylvania with her beloved
cockatiel.


Amazon author page:  http://tinyurl.com/LARAmazon


Blog:  http://peersofbeinan.wordpress.com/

Pinterest:  http://www.pinterest.com/peersofbeinan/

Laurel A. Rockefeller
Author, Peers of Beinan series: http://www.peersofbeinan.com
Author, The Legendary Women of World History series:
http://www.legendarywomenbooks.com/

Check out the newest Peers of Beinan book, “Anlei’s Legacy Trilogy:
the Lost Tales” available now exclusively for kindle
http://www.amazon.com/Anleis-Legacy-Trilogy-Tales-Beinan-ebook/dp/B00INCPOZ8/

 

And here are some other authors who are playing this game. Kyra Halland

http://www.kyrahalland.com/1/post/201…
http://www.kyrahalland.com/1/post/201…

 

Victoria Zigler http://ziglernews.blogspot.co.uk/2014/04/author-tag-chain.html

