Tags

, , ,

Name(s): “My name is actually Keroberous, but my human and I decided to just write it as Kero for my books.  We figured it would be easier for people to say if they were reading it out to someone.  It’s what I get called most of the time anyway; unless I’m in trouble.”

 Age: “I’ll be ten years old on May 23rd 2014.”

Describe your appearance in 10 words or less. “A small white dog with pointed ears.”

Do you have any relationships you prize above others? Why? “I love my human more than any other human or animal in the whole universe! I’ve known her since I was a tiny puppy with my furmama and we have a strong bond.  Being with her makes me feel safe.”

 Do you like other animals? Do you have any pets/animal companions? “I love all other animals.  Well, all except birds.  I always try to make friends with any animals I meet in my day to day life.  I’ve had several adopted siblings of different species over the years: a budgie, cats, degus, other dogs, fish, gerbils, a guinea pig, hamsters, and a rabbit.  I’ve loved them all, though I’ve gotten on better with some than others.  Charlie – the budgie – I only tolerated though; if there’s one kind of animal I don’t like, it’s birds.  I might not have had bird issues, but after a scare I had thanks to Charlie, I really don’t like birds much.”

Do you have a family? Tell us about them. “I’m from a litter of 3 males and a female, but I don’t really remember my biological siblings and my Furmama that well.  I haven’t seen them since I was a couple of months old, and all I know is that my Furmama’s name is Serena Snowflake and they’re all Westies like me.  I don’t remember my Furpapa at all.  Since I was a couple of months old I’ve lived with the human I live with now, except for one time when I was with someone else for a lot of sleeps for a reason I don’t understand.  As I said, we’ve had several other animals in the house in that time too; some stayed only a very short time, others stayed for a few years.  Right now my adopted siblings are all rodents, and all male.  I’ve got four degu brothers named Jacob, Jasper, Jenks and Joshua, and a pair of gerbil brothers named Bilbo and Baggins.  The degus have a couple of books called ‘The Degu Days Duo’ if you want to read a bit more about them.  The gerbils don’t have any books out yet, but I heard they’d like to have one at some point in the future.  They’re all just copying me; I’m famous and they want a part of it.  But that’s how it always goes, isn’t it? One family member gets a bit of fame, and the rest want a bit of the action!”

 Do you have any phobias? “I’m afraid of a lot of things.  My biggest fear is being alone though; I suffer from severe separation anxiety.  I’ve suffered from it since I was a puppy, and any time my human has to go somewhere I have to have a doggysitter.  Even with the sitter though, I’m always terrified my human won’t come back, and so relieved each time she does.  My biggest phobia is that one day she won’t come back.”

Please give us an interesting and unusual fact about yourself? “I’m a terrier, and terriers are supposed to be rodent catchers, but I’m friends with rodents; I always look out for my rodent siblings, and have never attempted to harm one in my whole life.  Even when one of the hamsters got out of his cage once when I was a puppy all I did was stay near him and yap for the humans to get them to come and get him.  In fact, I never even tried to hurt the rat one of the cats brought home and let loose in our place once.  I’m a good boy!”

Please give us a little information about the world in which you live. “My world is your world, but viewed from a lot lower down.  I’m only a foot high at the shoulder, and the world looks a lot different from down here!”

Do you travel in the course of your adventures? If so where? “I go for walkies most days; though not if it’s raining, because I don’t like to get wet.  We go to the park, to the beach, and in to town.  Sometimes the humans also make me go to the vet, which I really don’t enjoy.  You can read about some of the places I visit in ‘Kero Goes Walkies’ and ‘Kero Goes To Town’ if you want.  There’s also a bit about one of those vet trips I hate in ‘Kero Gets Sick’ if you want to read about that.”

What form of politics is dominant in your world? (Democracy, Theocracy, Meritocracy, Monarchy, Kakistocracy etc.) “I don’t know what any of those are, but as far as I’m concerned I’m in charge.”

Does your world have different races of people? If so do they get on with one another? “We see lots of different races of people around where we live; most of them are nice.  I try to be friends with them all, and my human will willingly talk to any of them who are interested in talking to either me or her.  I hear a lot of people in the world don’t try and be friends with everyone though, which sounds strange to me; I think everyone should be friends! There’s a lot of wildlife around too.  Some of our neighbours are foxes, squirrels and badgers, not to mention the giant birds that live around here; my human says they’re called seagulls.”

What is the technology level for your world/place of residence? What item would you not be able to live without? “My world is your world, so I have access to the same technology as you.  I can’t use it, but it exists.  The thing I couldn’t live without is the fridge-freezer, because that’s where the meat and cheese live.”

Within your civilisation what do you think is the most important discovery/invention? “The most important invention is cheese! I have no idea who came up with the idea of making cheese, but that person deserves a medal! I love cheese!”

 

***

 

Author notes:

Book(s) in which this character appears plus links:

Kero’s World, book 1: Kero Goes Walkies – http://www.smashwords.com/books/view/312873

Kero’s World, book 2: Kero Celebrates His Birthday – http://www.smashwords.com/books/view/319037

Kero’s World, book 3: Kero Gets Sick – http://www.smashwords.com/books/view/324875

Kero’s World, book 4: Kero Celebrates Halloween – http://www.smashwords.com/books/view/342194

Kero’s World, book 5: Kero Goes To Town – http://www.smashwords.com/books/view/344560

Kero’s World, book 6: Kero Celebrates Christmas – http://www.smashwords.com/books/view/344566

 

Author name: Victoria Zigler

 

Website/Blog/Author pages etc:

 

Website: http://www.zigler.co.uk

Smashwords: http://www.smashwords.com/profile/view/toriz

Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/toriz

Blog: http://ziglernews.blogspot.com

Facebook page: http://www.facebook.com/pages/Victoria-Zigler/424999294215717

Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/victoriazigler

 

