Tags

, , , , ,

I’d like to welcome back author: Diana L. Wicker

Please recap briefly about your books:

The Dreamweaver’s Journey: The Age of Awakenings – Book 1

The first Dreamweaver in three hundred years has come of age. Awakened in the night after a vision, she seeks out the Sacred Fire in the Temple. A voice calls out from the flames, “Dreamweaver, you are summoned.” An image appears of an ancient path through the Mist. The Guardians have summoned her on a quest that will take her to the four Realms of Light within Feyron in search of answers and aid.

The Guardian Child’s Return: The Age of Awakenings – Book 2

The Guardian, Lord Grypos, calls for a journey, offering vision of red desert sands, a land of grey beyond, and a cavern of twilight behind an obsidian wall. “Arwyn and Shyamal are to go there for me to seek out that which was once mine.” A seemingly simple task becomes an adventure with life threatening consequences as they travel far from home to a realm that few even knew could be reached.

What has changed since you last visited? Tell us your news!

 

Let me see.  When we last chatted Book 2 was out for edit.  It has since been released and is available in both ebook and paperback.  I now have a third book out for edit, Legacy of Mist and Shadow.

Outside of my Feyron tales, I had the distinct privilege of co-writing a story with my best friend, Alex Butcher, to place in the Bellator anthology.  This anthology really means a lot to me.  My father was a PTSD psychiatrist for the VA, and this is a charity anthology donating proceeds to the Wounded Warrior Program.

Looking back what do you wish you’d known when you started writing?

 

I’d say – save everything.  No matter how bad a rough draft or story spark seems, put it in a file and save it.  You never know when that sow’s ear might become a silk purse or the inspiration for something new.  And, while you’re saving everything, get yourself a good backup program.  Everything “can” be lost, even cloud storage and online word processing services.  Always keep a backup somewhere.

Most authors like to read, what have you recently finished reading? Did you enjoy it?

 

The last book I read was a beta run for the next book in Mia Darien’s series, Adelheid.  I did enjoy it very much; and, as always, I’m excitedly awaiting the next installment.  I love her series.

Do you read work by self-published authors?

 

I do enjoy reading works by indie and self published authors.  I have several authors that I adore and wait impatiently for their next books to appear; Alexandra Butcher, Mia Darien, Ian Dudley, and Willa Jemhart.

Can you name your favourite traditionally published author?

I think I’m going to have to name two, Janet Morris and Michael Jecks.

When buying a book do you read the reviews?

 

That depends.  If a book is recommended to me by friends or family, I tend not to read the reviews.  If I have found a book through a blog, then likely I’ve just read the review that blogger posted.  If it is a book recommended for my children than I am unfamiliar with, I always read the reviews before purchase.

How important are reviews?

That is an interesting question.  From my perspective as a reader, a well written review can help me decide if a book is the sort of tale I will enjoy (or my children will enjoy) before reading it.

I have read that there are behind the scenes algorithms on some websites that track reviews, likes, shares, and other customer interaction which then determines how a book is shared in suggestion lists.  So, it seems like, for some online book sellers, it is very important to collect reviews and other forms of interaction.

What are your views on authors reviewing other authors?

 

Authors are people, too.  They read books, watch movies, enjoy television, look at artwork, and have opinions on such things. Authors should be allowed the opportunity to express themselves as individuals, just as any other reader of a book can offer their insight and opinion.

What are your views on authors offering free books?

 

I have to say, I enjoy offering free ebooks on occasion.  It makes me feel good to share my work; and, if someone likes it, they may tell their friends or even possibly buy future stories.

What are your plans for the future? When will we see your next book?  Tell us about it.

 

I hope to have my next book out for the holiday season.  I do not have the back cover teaser or marketing summary prepared yet, but let me see if I can pull together a little something for this interview.

The Age of Awakenings – Book 3 picks up where Book 2 left off.  For the first time the adventurers find themselves separated from one another, lost on a World Beyond consumed by mist and shadow.  Many of the previous characters return, and new characters are introduced in this first adventure outside of the Realm of Feyron.

Links etc.:

website:

social media:

