Character writing tips.

POTL: All Things Books, Reading and Publishing

Main Characters Writing

Ask any reader what makes a book outstanding and 9/10 people will tell you it’s the connection with the characters. Characters bring the book to life and trust me, you want your main characters to leap off the page. For this week’s workshop, we’re going to talk about how to make your main characters memorable.

As an avid reader, one of the first things I look at when deciding to buy a book is the blurb. As I read the blurb, I ask myself if I find the character interesting or intriguing. Is the conflict clear? Is it believable? My answers will determine if I buy the book.

The same is true for me when writing. I look at my story through the eyes of a reader. Do I find Mary interesting? Is the conflict between Mary and the demons clear? Is it believable?

Read the quote from Sue Monk…

View original post 461 more words

