Tags

, , , , ,

Welcome to Raymond Angel Martinez

Please tell us a little about yourself.

The phrase that comes to mind when I describe myself is “irrational exuberance.” I’m an engineer, a martial artist, a salsa dancer, a father of two teenage boys (ouch), and a partner to a wonderful woman.  Of course, the author in me loves all the input, all that ‘life’ to write about, but my feet hate it.

Please tell us a little about your writing – for example genre, title, etc.

My latest book, No One Likes a Fat Vampire, is horror, and it is the genre I love.  But the more I write, the more I find horror in every story. Like, what if you found out your father was a half-man, half-machine with evil magic powers – horror? Nope, Star Wars.

Who or what are your inspirations/influences?

I take my inspiration wherever I can get it and as often as I can.  I think the hardest part of writing is facing that blank page every day. So I read books like The Writer’s Journey, watch every TED talk on writing many times, and recite Kurt Vonnegut tips on short story writing before I go to bed.

As far as influences go, if I could take one percent from each of Stephen King, Ira Levin, and Raymond Chandler, I would be very happy.

Research can be important in world-building, how much do you need to do for your books? Do you enjoy this aspect of creating a novel and what are your favourite resources?

The internet is a great resource, of course, but sometimes you have to bite the bullet and buy a book. I was writing a scene in a cemetery and felt I really didn’t know about them, so I bought Stories in Stone, which changed my whole idea of cemeteries enough that I visited a few.

In what formats are your books available? (E-books, print, large print, audio) Are you intending to expand these? (If applicable)

Right now I am in E-book only, but hoping to expand to print, which I feel is still beautiful, even though I love my Kindle.

Do you self-edit? If so why is that the case? Do you believe a book suffers without being professionally edited?

Yes, I self-edit, and yes, I also have my work professionally edited!  If you want to get published, do both; you will need it. I know I do.

What are your opinions about authors commenting on reviews? How important are reviews?

Reviews are very important. You get to see how the world sees your work, and sometimes it can be depressing. But once in a while you get to see how other people see things in your writing that you didn’t, and that can be wonderful.

What experiences can a book provide that a movie or video game cannot?

“There is no exquisite beauty… without some strangeness in the proportion.”

― Edgar Allan Poe

What did you feel reading that? What movie or game can move you like just one sentence you can find in a book?

What three pieces of advice would you give to new writers?

The classics:
First, write all the time, as much as possible, more than possible. Write after sex, during Thanksgiving dinner, on the roller-coaster, write. Second, there is only one thing you should do more than writing: reading. Third, it’s like a baseball game: slow at times, it has weird rules, the players are all characters, it’s a long game, and it’s worth it.

What are your best marketing/networking tips?

Try everything: you never know what is going to work.  My step-father, although we never really got along, was so tickled by the fact that I wrote a book that he posted it on his Facebook page every day for a week.

Most authors also like to read, what books do you enjoy?

The ones with the ‘what if?’ What if we could clone Hitler? The Boys from Brazil. How would a detective act if he knew the world was coming to an end? The Last Policeman. Is there a way for a sensitive man to become more solid? Angry White Pyjamas.

Do you have a favourite movie?

It’s like picking a favourite food – how do we measure ice cream against Foie Gras?  But the movie that had the most impact on me as a child was North By Northwest. I learned how fickle life can be.

Do you have any pets?

Lucy is a part Beagle, part Jack Russell terrier, and part stand-up comic.

Can you give us a silly fact about yourself?

I love romantic comedy movies. There, I said it. My favourite is Amelie

 

Book links, website/blog and author links: http://www.amazon.com/One-Likes-Vampire-Cerberus-Series-ebook/dp/B00G7997NY/

 

