Tags

, , , , ,

BAd blood
Welcome to Nicky Peacock
Are your characters based on real people?  Sometimes. I like to give main characters a part of myself, Brit in Bad Blood has my dry sense of humor and, in a manuscript I just finished, the main character called Mouse has a fear of getting lost (which is one of mine) I’ve always thought that believable characters, even if they live in an unbelievable world, are paramount in writing.
Have you ever used a person you don’t/didn’t like as a character then killed them off? LOL, yes. I have a few ex boyfriends in some quite dramatic death scenes – writing is better than therapy! Also a couple of my closet friends have characters dedicated to them.
Research can be important in world-building, how much do you need to do for your books? Do you enjoy this aspect of creating a novel and what are your favourite resources?  I love the research part of writing. The right research can spark so many ideas and really can fan the fires of my imagination. And of course, the more real you can make your novels the more readers will suspend their disbelief on other crazier parts.  I do think that you have to be careful though, some writers can get lost in the research and spend all their time on it, never actually writing that great story.
Is there a message conveyed within your writing?  Do you feel this is important in a book? I do think an overall theme is needed in books – without it your voice as a writer can be a bit quiet. In Bad Blood I had Magic VS Science and of course there is the revenge sub plot, I felt when writing the book, it was easier for plotting purposes to have a kind of topic formula to work to. That said, I have in the past had pieces of my work commented on by readers and they have found themes in there I didn’t even realise I’d put in – never underestimate the sub-concious.
In what formats are your books available? (E-books, print, large print, audio.) Are you intending to expand these and if not, what is the reason?  My books are available is both eBook and print. I actually like both equally as a reader. I love my Kindle, but also adore my book shelf (even though it’s dangerously close to crushing me under an avalanche of books) I think rather than one killing off the other, they are existing side by side quite nicely – at the moment anyway.
Do you self-edit? If so why is that the case? Do you believe a book suffers without being professionally edited?  I do a certain amount of editing through writing my books, but leave the final part up to a qualified professional. No matter how good a writer is with grammar etc. there’ll always be something that someone else will spot in there. So I think it’s best to have another set of eyes on anything before it goes out to readers.
When buying a book do you read the reviews? Yes, I tend to have a look at Goodreads. I think, when it comes to reviews, that some have to be taken with a pinch of salt. Bad reviews are a part of the author’s life nowadays and I believe it boils down to the old saying, ‘you can’t please everyone all the time’.  So I only tend to buy books by them when there’s a lot of people saying the same thing.
What are your reviews on authors reviewing other authors? Above anyone else, authors should read a lot! It’s part of our jobs, so yes I think it’s a blessing to get a review from another author. I think it’s best to tread lightly though when reviewing other’s work. Just because you didn’t like it, it doesn’t mean its rubbish. I run a writers’ group in the UK and I have a rule there that anyone criticising another’s work should only do so if they give a reason why and a solution – this shows they actually spent some time on thinking about it rather than blithely saying they ‘didn’t like it’, which isn’t very constructive.
What experiences can a book provide that a movie or video game cannot? A book engages your imagination. Movies and video games put you on a journey and carry you along with a tide of pre-chosen images. A book gives you the bones of a story and lets you imagine it. Also, there’s more books around (production costs are not as steep) so there’s more choice and more voices on the market.
Can you give us a silly fact about yourself? If university wasn’t so expensive in the UK, I would have become an English Teacher.

 

Author links:
Website for my Writers’ Group: http://creativemindswriting.wordpress.com/

 

