Tags

, , ,

Welcome to Maer Wilson.

Please tell us a little about your writing – for example genre, title, etc. I write Urban Fantasy. My first book is Relics, Modern Magics, Book 1. Book 2 is almost ready for submission to my publisher and I’ve begun Book 3. Relics takes place in San Franciscoand follows the exploits of husband and wife detectives, Thulu and La Fi. The couple’s clients are usually dead, which is fine with them since they work only with the supernatural. But their simple job to find lost relics for an ancient daemon turns into a grand adventure when the creatures of myth and magic return to Earth, confirming that humans are definitely not alone.

Where can readers find your book? Relics is found at these retailers:

Amazon – Kindle – http://www.amazon.com/Relics-Modern-Magics-Book-1-ebook/dp/B00NULK7PE/

Amazon – Paperback – http://www.amazon.com/Relics-Modern-Magics-Book-Volume/dp/1941637035/

Barnes & Noble – Nook – http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/relics-maer-wilson/1120404720?ean=2940046193619

How long have you been writing and what, if anything, made you choose the genre in which you write? I’ve been writing for years, but this is my first novel. I adore fantasy and Sci Fi. I wanted something contemporary, so a blend of urban Fantasy, Paranormal with hints of SF was a natural and very comfortable choice.

Who or what are your inspirations/influences? I’m sure every writer I’ve ever read has influenced me to some degree or other. I love the idea of magic in our world, so while I read a lot of epic fantasy, I also love contemporary fantasy, as well.

Can you name a positive experience from your writing and a negative one?Positive – The fact that I get to play in a wonderful world and make it into whatever I want it to be.

Negative – About the only thing I can think of is that I don’t get to read as much as I’d like to. While I do read a lot, most of it is for mini-reviews for my podcast or because I have a blog guest. I don’t get as much time to just sit and read whatever I want to.

With the rise of e-books do you still publish in print as well? Is this medium important and why? I am published in print and ebooks and I think both are important and each serves its own function. There are still many readers who want to have that physical book in their hands. As long as that demand is there from the readers, then it’s important to meet that demand.

Do you listen to music or watch TV whilst you write? I listen to gaming and film soundtracks and discovered Two Steps From Hell, an awesome group. I don’t listen to songs very often, though, because I find words distracting. But soundtracks are perfect for what I write.

Books are important, why is this the case? What can a book provide that, say, a video game cannot? I’ve been reading since I was four years old and I cannot imagine not having a book going.

While I’m not tearing through five to seven books a week like I did when I was younger, I still read a lot. I also play video games. The thing you get in books that you don’t get in a game is the story and character development. There are some games that attempt to give us some of that, but the sheer detail is lacking. Just as when a beloved book is created into a film, it can never quite capture every nuance of the book. For one thing there is simply too much detail packed into a novel to translate to the screen. For another part of what happens in a book is based upon the reader’s perception of what they read and take away from the reading. That one on one relationship between author and reader is magic and is unique to each reader.

Can you give us a silly fact about yourself? I used to be a hardcore raider in online MMOs. Now I’m just a casual raider, but I still play online video games every week. My current game is Star Wars: The Old Republic. Thank you for having me on your blog and for such a fun interview!

Maer Author relics 400x600

After a successful career being other people, and later teaching others the many tricks of that trade, Maer Wilson has decided to be herself for a while. Turns out she’s a writer. She’s always loved stories, especially fantasy, mystery and sci fi. Maer was born in the Year of the Dragon and has a dragon-themed room in her home, but sadly no dragons in the back yard. When she’s not writing, Maer plays online video games, teaches college and reads. Maer is a partner in Ellysian Press, a small publishing house. She also co-hosts the literary podcast MythBehaving.

Maer lives in the high desert of Southern Nevada with her three dogs, a chihuahua and two poodles.

Her books include Relics and Portals, Books 1 and 2 in the Modern Magics series. The upcoming third book in the series is Magics. There are also three novelettes in the series – “Ghost Memory,” “Unwanted Ghost” and “Ghost Dancer.” A fourth story, “Wedding Ghost” is also planned. You can find all books and novelettes in the Modern Magics series at Amazon.

For more info, you can visit Maer’s website at http://maerwilson.com/.

The Modern Magics Series

The books trace what happens when magic returns to Earth, as seen through the eyes of paranormal detectives, Thulu and La Fi.

The Modern Magics Stories are set prior to the main events in Relics, Book 1 and involve some of the couple’s more interesting cases.

Relics, Modern Magics, Book 1

Most of Thulu and La Fi’s clients are dead. Which is perfect since their detective agency caters to the supernatural. But a simple job finding a lost locket leads to a big case tracking relics for an ancient daemon.

The daemon needs the relics to keep a dangerous portal closed. His enemy, Gabriel, wants the relics to open the portal and give his people access to a new feeding ground – Earth.

Caught on live TV, other portals begin to open and the creatures of magic return to Earth. The people of Earth are not alone, but will soon wish they were.

When Gabriel threatens their family, Thulu and La Fi’s search becomes personal. The couple will need powerful help in the race to find the relics before Gabriel does. But maybe that’s what ghostly friends, magical allies and daemonic clients are for.

When the creatures of myth and magic return to Earth, they’re nothing like your mother’s fairy tales.

Portals, Modern Magics, Book 2

For supernatural detectives Thulu and La Fi, “normal” is a relative term. La Fi is a medium, Thulu is a finder, and their usual clients are already dead.

But when their friend Reo is shot, and a group of stranded angels show up at their house for help to find a missing child, things are striking too close to home.

And the portals that let the magical races return to Earth have started opening on their own. With trips off-world, a kidnapped psychic and changes to their own abilities, Thulu and La Fi are hit with a lot more than they usually handle. Of course, their magical friends are there to help, but even they may not be enough to save an increasingly unstable Earth.

Portals is the cross genre (Sci Fi/Urban Fantasy) sequel to Relics and is Book 2 in the Modern Magics series.

