Tags

, , ,

Welcome to Theresa Van Spankeren

Please tell us a little about your writing – for example genre, title, etc. I write paranormal fiction geared for readers 13 years and older. Lost Soul is the first book in a vampire series War of Destiny. The series is about a young woman named Julia who learns to come to terms with her destiny as a vampire amid deep personal tragedy.

Where do you find inspiration? I find inspiration in various places. Music can be very inspiring, as well as nature. I enjoy writing by bodies of water especially.

Research can be important in world-building, how much do you need to do for your books? Do you enjoy this aspect of creating a novel and what are your favourite resources? I have done lots of research for many of my books. I couldn’t even give you a specific amount – it varies from book to book. It can be enjoyable, but I also have found that research can be frustrating at times. I have found Renaissance Faire speech sites to be useful, but I don’t have a specific favourite.

Are your characters based on real people? Some of the characters might be loosely based on aspects of real people, but most of them just come to me.

In what formats are your books available? (E-books, print, large print audio) Are you intending to expand these and if not, what is the reason?Currently, War of Destiny: Lost Soul is the only one of the series published. It is available as a printed paperback and as an e-book through the Amazon Kindle. The paperback can be ordered through various online retailers like Barnes and Noble, but the e-book is only available through Amazon. Currently, there are no plans to expand to other formats because currently there is no demand for it.

Do you self-edit? If so why is that the case? Do you believe a book suffers without being professionally edited? I do all my own editing with the help of a local writer’s group. I have a great group of people to help me, but only limited money so I do my own editing. A book can suffer without professional editing, but even the major publishing houses have errors in their publications. We are all only human, after all.

Do you read work by self-published authors? I have read a few works by other self-published authors. Some of them have been very good.

When buying a book do you read the reviews? I tend to skim through the reviews and look them over, but I don’t make my determination solely on reviews.

What are your views on authors offering free books? I think a free book giveaway can be a good promotional tool, especially for a new author. However, if you are giving away your work for free all the time, there might be a problem.

Most authors like to read, what have you recently finished reading? Did you enjoy it? The last two books I have read is Forsaken by J.D. Barker and Survyve: Daylight’s Doom by Lachesha W.B. I enjoyed both books immensely.

Do you have any pets? My family has 1 dog and 3 cats at the moment.

Book links, website/blog and author links:

http://www.amazon.com/Lost-Soul-Destiny-Theresa-Spankeren-ebook/dp/B00K7S9EFM/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1400734075&sr=1-1

http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/lost-soul-theresa-van-spankeren/1119468263?ean=9781499212310

https://www.facebook.com/pages/War-of-Destiny/288695937975708?ref=hl

possible redone cover jpeg

