I agree with this fine review. I, the Sun is one of the best books I’ve read. It’s a true rollercoaster of emotional and very literary writing, interweaving the words of the king himself with the superb prose of Janet Morris. I cried, I laughed and I really couldn’t put this down.

sacredbander

First published AT: http://dorgoland.blogspot.com/2015/01/a-review-of-janet-morris-classic.html

A review of Janet Morris’ classic historical novel, I, THE SUN.

I, The Sun, by Janet Morris. Published by Perseid Press, 2013. 534 pages. Available in paperback, Kindle, and Nook editions. Cover art: The Seal of Suppiluliumas.
Copyright © Janet Morris 1983, 2013

This masterpiece of historical fiction was based on the actual writings and historical records of Suppiluliumas I, the great Hittite king who dominated the Middle East around the 14th century, BC. He rebuilt the old capital of Hattusas, and from there exercised his Imperial Power over the Hittite heartland, controlling the lands between the Mediterranean and Euphrates. But he was not a king to sit back on his throne and pull the strings of his minions, advisors and subjects. No, he was hands-on, and long before he became king he made his way in the world, fighting and whoring and playing…

View original post 1,455 more words

