Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Tell Us About Yourself

Name (s): Mirandra Var, Shamania of Varris, daughter of Kherak Var, and daughter of the storm.

Age: 30 winters.

Describe your appearance in 10 words or less. Female troll, blonde hair, grey eyes, slate grey skin, horns.

Do you have a moral code? If so what is it? I must behave with honour, I must be wise and courteous, and the good of the tribe outweighs my own. Trolls value kin and alliances highly and these relationships must be maintained. I should not turn away from those who need help, guests are welcome and shall be accommodated.

I should question all, expect little and give much.  A Shaman’s door is never closed to her people, for who knows when guidance might be needed. Knowledge is power.

Honour is most prized by the Trollkind. A troll without honour is not a troll.  I am Shamania, it is my duty to maintain the hour of the tribe. It is better to die in the service of others, or a worthy cause than to live as a coward. That is what my brother says, and I agree.

Would you kill for those you love? Yes, if it is the correct thing to do. It would depend on why and whom, however. I have fought with monsters to protect those for whom I care. I would kill for my tribe at need.

Would you die for those you love? Oh yes.  If my death would save them I would go to the Goddess without regret.

What would you say are your strengths and weaknesses?  Strengths – I have more magic than I received from my mother alone. I am unique amongst my tribe, for I carry a little of the elemental magics. I have been taught well.

Weaknesses – I am young among my people and have little experience.

Do you have any relationships you prize above others? Why? My brother Talfor, he has always been there for me and now his wife, the elf M’alia for she is courageous and clever. M’alia sees things from another point of view. She makes Talfor happy and that makes me happy.  My mother, although she is now with the Goddess Ethnii’a, Kherak was a remarkable woman, although sometimes hard she was fair and wise.

My father and his wife. I did not know my father until recently, he was not part of our lives. It is common amongst the Trollkind for women, especially Shaman, to raise children without a man around. We are matrilineal and Archos knew not of my existence but as my mother was in her last years she agreed he would be a good ally for the War Which Will Come, and so now we are learning about one another. The Lady Dii’Athella, the Lady of the Light, is a good friend, she visits when she can. My mother cared deeply for her.

Thain. I will leave you to discover who Thain might be…after all a woman needs some secrets.

Do you like animals? Do you have any pets/animal companions? I have a horse, Tempest. He was a gift from my father, Mir’Rillith, known as Lord Archos of Tremellic to the elves and humans. We trolls rarely have horses, for they do not fare well in the mountains. Tempest is lively and bold. He is a trollish horse now, and he knows it.

Do you have a family? Tell us about them. My mother, Kherak, my brother Talfor and his wife, my father Archos – Mir’Rillith and his wife, the Lady Dii’Athella.  We are trolls, and elves and men, and we are strengthened as a result. Soon I must find a consort, for I must bear a daughter so that when the time is ready she may rule when I have joined the Goddess.

Please give us an interesting and unusual fact about yourself. I have blonde hair – blonde is very rare among our kind and it is seen as a blessing.

Please give us a little information about the world in which you live. My home is Varris, in the Jagged Peak Mountains. It is on a small plateau, and very beautiful.  We are safe from the Order of Witch-Hunters there, but they are known to take trolls, for they hate all whose blood flows with magic. The world of Erana is a dangerous place, for my kind, for elves and any who are magical. Yet there is beauty in it, for the land remembers when the magic flowed, and the stories tell of a time when we were free.  We must preserve these tales and the hope which goes with them.

Does your world have religion or other spiritual beliefs? If so do you follow one of them? Please describe (briefly) how this affects your behaviour. The Witch-Hunters pretend they do not believe in the gods but call their names often enough. There are many gods, and minor gods of Erana. Our tribe reveres Ethnii’a Goddess of the Sky, above the other gods, for she sends the rain, her sons the moon and sun warm us and light our way and her daughter Sendrillia guards the sacred waterfall which marks the way to the Temple of the Sky. Sendrillia was cursed by wicked magic and turned from woman into a flower. If one honours the goddess’ daughter correctly, with petals from the flower which grows high in the mountains, the waterfall may be crossed on the Path of Rock behind the curtain of water. If one does not honour her, one will get very wet and cannot cross.

We are blessed for one of Ethnii’a’s servants – the Avi Tam, an air elemental, visits the Temple. She was entrapped by a wicked creature and freed and now she blesses us. One must honour the gods, for one never knows when one may need their assistance. The elves share many of our gods, often with different names but the humans tend to be faithless, unless they are mages of course. Mages know that which is true, not the lies of the Order of Witch-Hunters.

Do you travel in the course of your adventures? If so where? We travel to Khar’atuk, my place of Proving. I must endure and survive my ordeal to be deemed fit to leave. Khar’atuk is far from our lands, in the lands of our kin. The Emerald Valley is people by humans, who are not friendly to us. Khar’atuk is an old ruin, a labyrinth from the past times and filled with danger.

Does your world have magic? If so how is it viewed in your world? *Laughs. You need ask that question? Of course there is magic, although the Witch-Hunters seek it out to destroy wherever they can. Magic persists. I am Shamania, my mother and grandmother, and her mother, and hers were Shaman, my father is a sorcerer, and my brother a shape-changer. Does that answer your question, human?

What form of politics is dominant in your world? (Democracy, Theocracy, Meritocracy, Monarchy, Kakistocracy etc.) The trolls are matrilineal. I suppose you would call us city states, as a Shaman will rule a town or towns. There is no ruler of all the trolls. I am sure, where you to ask the Order of Witch-Hunters they would claim they rule this land, trolls included. They merely think this is so.  I am unfamiliar with their command structure, I try to avoid their notice. Witch-Hunters rarely dare to attack trolls, but it is known.

Does your world have different races of people? If so do they get on with one another? We have Trollkind, Elfkind and Mankind. But there are truly the magical races – the elementals, the fae, the dragons and keres.

The humans fear the elves – for they are blamed for the Plague, many humans fear the trolls – we are seen as barbarians, where in truth it is the humans who would fit that description. Most people, be they elves, men or trolls do not know of the elementals, the dragons, the fae and the keres. My father tells me the fae should not exist – their Realm is closed to us. They have wicked magic – the raising of the dead, they feed on fear and shame, on lust and anger. Certainly they are rare, which is fortunate. I have never seen a great dragon – but my grandfather did.

Elementals – they exist. One at least walks among us….

thestolentower1563x2500 Larger print

And here’s a Thunderclap Event for Stolen Tower. http://thndr.it/1GxUUlp

 

Author notes:

Book(s) in which this character appears plus links

The Shining Citadel (briefly)

The Stolen Tower – the Light Beyond the Storm Chronicles – Book III

What stalks the land cannot be, but is.

Where magic is outlawed a troll Shaman calls from her deathbed to her heiress, Mirandra Var, daughter of the storm. Mirandra vows to find her missing kin, sort friend from foe, and claim the dangerous secrets guarded by unthinkable creatures. If she succeeds, she will become the leader of her tribe. If she fails there will be no tribe to lead.

http://www.amazon.com/Stolen-Tower-Light-Beyond-Chronicles-ebook/dp/B00U8A9044/

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Stolen-Tower-Light-Beyond-Chronicles-ebook/dp/B00U8A9044/

Author name: A. L. Butcher

Website/Blog/Author pages etc.

 

