Tags

, , , ,

Welcome to Christopher Bryant             

Where are you from and where do you live now? I was born and raised in Lexington, Kentucky.  I have been trying to escape ever since.  There’s nothing wrong with the state, its beautiful horse country, but it’s not where I see myself calling home.

Please tell us a little about your writing – for example genre, title, etc.I write fantasy adventure books for young adults.  I am also in the process of creating children’s books.  My first published book is The Sword of Hope Destiny Awaits, the first in a series I’m writing.  The second book, Dark Origins is complete and looking to be published.  The third is in the works.  For the children’s books, I am basing them off my mom’s and my grandmother’s dogs.  Each book will have its own theme, but told from the dog’s perspectives.  I’ll call the series The Adventures of J. Bird and Space Monkey (the dogs’ nicknames).

Where do you find inspiration? I find inspiration everywhere and in everything.  One of my favorite things to do when I get writer’s block or need some new inspiration is I go driving.  It could be something small, like a cross made of two stick tied together with a small yellow ribbon on the side of the road or maybe a house that’s built into the side of a hill covered in dead trees.  There’s always something out there that can make a story really pop.

Do you have a favourite character? If so why? Yes, my favorite character is Tiberius.  Aside from the fact that the name is awesome, he’s a kid who wants to prove he can do more than everyone thinks he can. In my series, that plays a big role in his personality.  Proving to himself and everyone else that he can do more.  He’s not just the help.

Do you have a character you dislike? If so why? There is only one character so far I don’t like, but at the same time he’s kind of awesome.  His name is Chingon AKA the black knight.  He was a good guy turned evil and he stands just under 5 feet tall.  His armor is made of charred remains of his body, harder than any man made steel and a helmet of great evil to match.  I like him for that and the wicked blade he carries.  What I don’t like about him is he shows up everywhere taunting the boys and causing problems.  If there’s something going down, he’s usually behind it.

Are your characters based on real people? In a way, yes.  A lot of the character aspects are based on me and my little brother and the turmoil we face in each other’s company.   Also, for book 3, the people who have been helping me along the way are getting their own characters in their own town that contributes to the series as a whole as thank you.

Have you ever used a person you don’t/didn’t like as a character then killed them off? I have yet to use a person I don’t/didn’t like and kill them off in the book, but I did have to kill off a character, which surprisingly was hard to do.

Research can be important in world-building, how much do you need to do for your books? Do you enjoy this aspect of creating a novel and what are your favourite resources? Research is super important, if not for an actual geographic example to write from, for the little things like the way the wind blows, the feeling you get when the sun is in your eyes, a cross on the side of the road, etc.  Research is very important.  Same thing goes with books that are nonfiction or are fiction based on an actual location.  How can a person write about it if they know nothing about it?

Is there a message conveyed within your writing?  Do you feel this is important in a book? Yes, there is a very important message conveyed within my writing.  Not only does each book contain its own message, the series as a whole does too.  The first and third in the series are told from the good guys perspective and the second and fourth are from the bad guys view.  Aside from the story itself being a growing up tale for the main two characters, each learning to become the person they were meant to be or knew they could be, the series is written from both sides to show the differences between good and evil.  How difficult, but rewarding, it is to be the hero.  Having to follow the rules and not do bad.  It also shows how chaotic and freeing it is to be the bad guy, having no rules, doing what they want and possibly the consequences of their actions.

I do feel it’s important to have messages like that in a book just because if we don’t put them there, how will a child ever learn the differences, the meanings, to follow their dreams, to never give up, etc.

Sort these into order of importance: Great characters; great world-building; solid plot; technically perfect. Can you explain why you chose this order? (Yes I know they all are important…) Solid plot, great world-building, great characters, technically perfect.  I chose this order because without a plot, there is no story.  Once you have a plot, the next thing to do is create your world.  You can’t have characters without a world for them to live in.  Although, it can be done either way, characters first or world first.  Once your characters are right, your world is complete and everything fits well with your plot, its technically perfect.

In what formats are your books available? (E-books, print, large print audio) Are you intending to expand these and if not, what is the reason? My book is available in ebook and also paperback.  We are currently working on creating a graphic novel based on the series as well as an audio book for all books in the series.

Do you self-edit? If so why is that the case? Do you believe a book suffers without being professionally edited? I self-edit and I also get my books professionally edited.  I do believe a book suffers without professional editing.  No one is perfect.  What harm can come from having someone else look over what you’ve looked over and make suggestions?

 What experiences can a book provide that a movie or video game cannot? A book, compared to a movie or video game can provide a much richer experience.  Sure, you get actual faces and see the locations on a game or movie, but you can’t get that detailed view of an area or a person or even their personality without a book.  An author paints a picture with words in a way that a movie or a game can’t.  Books also contain much more than a movie or game shows, a backstory, scenes or chapters that weren’t added, etc.

What three pieces of advice would you give to new writers?

Never give up.

If someone tells you no, don’t let it discourage you.  Keep fighting for what you believe in.

Stay positive.

Can you give us a silly fact about yourself? I’m a red head and red heads have no souls. lol

Book links, website/blog and author links:

www.theswordofhope.com

http://tinyurl.com/pyh4c5h (amazon)

https://www.facebook.com/Sword.Of.Hope

https://twitter.com/TheSwordofHope

