Tags

, , , ,

I’ve been thinking of ways to vary the types of posts from the Library of Erana. After all variety is the spice of life, they say.

So I am starting a Word of the Week post – basically either myself or my followers can suggest a word, preferably an uncommon or unusual one, and I’ll look up meaning and origin. The Library of Erana is a hall of words – so we may as well find some:)

Today’s word: Misandrist – suggested by fantasy author Janet Morris.

NOUN: a person who dislikes, despises, or is strongly prejudiced against men.  It’s parallel is misogyny – a word more familiar (hatred of women).

This is a word which appeared in the 19th Century in The Spectator (1871).

Translation of the French “Misandrie” to the German “Männerhaß” (Hatred of Men)[5] is recorded in 1803.[6] Misandry is formed from the Greekmisos (μῖσος, “hatred”) and anēr, andros (ἀνήρ, gen. ἀνδρός; “man”).[7] 

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Misandry

Use in literature: Miss Haversham in Dickens’ Great Expectations was a caricature of a misandrist – jilted at the alter she thus hates men and uses the protagonist to exact revenge.

Arguably The Vagina Monologues is misandrist work as all the male characters are rogues, brutes and reprehensible individuals.

I’d like to say I haven’t read the latter of these but read Dickens many years ago and can’t remember much of the story.

