Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Welcome back to the infernal interview service, offering you close-ups of the damned like never before.

Character Spotlight

About yourself:

*Who are/were you?  Name’s Doc Holliday – Gambler, gunfighter, lover and sometimes dentist.

* Why do YOU think you’re in Hell? On account of some dark deeds committed throughout my life. I killed a lot of men in my time, and swindled a whole bunch more who didn’t understand the nature of their opponent when it came to games of chance. I got no complaints about where I ended up. I made some choices along the way that maybe I wouldn’t have if I’d known how things would work out. Some folk would call me an evil sonofabitch… can’t say as I’d blame them.

Who are your friends/allies here? I’ve met me an odd bunch here in hell, an eclectic mix of folks who all have one thing in common, a love of gamblin’. I’ve got my gal, Calamity Jane, a crazy ass Gaelic chieftain by the name o’ O’Neill – mad as hell but a good man to have at your back. Then there’s a genuine member of English royalty, the Earl of Sandwich. Finally there’s a Russian philosopher and writer, Fyodor Dostoyevsky

Describe your home/environment in Hell. HSM in his infinite wisdom has chosen to bind me to a saloon in a frontier town called Helldorado. As a gamblin’ man I’ve always sought that elusive moment where your heart is beatin’ so strongly in your chest it feels like it’ll jump clean out, just before you turn the last card over, knowin’ that everything you own is sittin’ in a heap in the middle of the table. That ultimate high, the rush you experience an instant before the reveal, has been taken from me by HSM. Every hand I play here in hell I win, empty victories when the outcome is preordained.

Do you have any enemies here? I have enemies in every damned place I’ve ever laid my hat. Here ain’t no different.

Come on be honest, what do you think of HSM leadership? As evil overlords go he’s pretty much got the job nailed. Sadly the better he is at running this eternal prison for the damned the worse afterlife becomes for the citizens of hell.

So, this plague – who’s responsible? Sadly, no one ever tells me anything.

What is the technology level of the culture you chose to write about? My story is set in a western environment and time.

Author Spotlight

*Name and bio. Paul Freeman is from Dublin, Ireland where he lives with his family. He is the author of the epic fantasy series, Tribesman. He has also co-authored a zombie apocalypse, collaborative novel, Season Of The Dead. In TAXI, he moves away from his usual speculative fiction genre, stepping into a more literary field, examining the effect on the life of a taxi driver after a single moment of madness which results in the death of a teenage girl, and how this event results in devastating consequences for him and those closest to him.

* Tell us about your story for this edition. My story is called Hell Noon. It is set in a western frontier town called Helldorado. The basic premise is that Doc Holliday and a collection of other famous gamblers are holed up in a saloon playing cards (Holliday is cursed to win every hand he plays) when they are invaded by a wild bunch of infected plague carriers. A gunfight ensues and the group come up with a plan to escape… nothing in hell runs smoothly though.

What inspired you to use the character(s) you’ve chosen? I really liked the idea of writing a western-themed story and as the title was Doctors in Hell I figured Doc Holliday would be the perfect MC to choose.

How did you become involved with this project? I was invited by Janet Morris to join and thought it would be a really fun thing to be involved in. And it is!

Writing for a shared world is challenging, how do you meet that challenge? By trying not to step on anyone’s toes.

What are you currently working on?  I’m currently writing a vampire apocalypse book. My normal genre to write in is fantasy, particularly epic fantasy, but I like to stray out of my comfort zone every now and then.

What are your views on authors offering free books? I have absolutely no issue with how anyone chooses to market their books. If it works go for it.

What marketing tips/writing advice can you offer other authors? Watch what I do very carefully and then do the complete opposite.

What other books/short stories have you written? Books currently published are my two epic fantasy novels from the same series: Tribesman and Warrior. I’ve just recently published a novel called Taxi about a Dublin taxi driver who becomes involved in a road traffic accident that was not his fault, but he is left to deal with the consequences. I have also co-authored a zombie apocalypse novel with three other authors. The premise for this is that each of us wrote from our own perspective in our own locations, so the book is set in three different countries and the apocalypse told from four different points of view.

I’ve also contributed a short story to a steampunk anthology called Strange Tales From The Scriptorium Vaults. Also another collection called A Turn Of The Wheel.

What are your views on authors commenting on reviews? Back away from the keyboard.

 

