Tags

, , , , ,

Chaos 3D
Tell Us About Yourself

Name
Amy Reese, Acolyte of, well, I suppose I should say both Lord Hate and Lady Lust, but I do a lot of work for all of Hell’s Pit Lords. We’ll just stick with Amy, I guess.

Please tell us a little about yourself.
It may sound like a cliché, but I grew up in a really religious family. My parents were hugely active in the church, I was in the youth group too. Then there was, well, something really terrible happening with our youth pastor. I won’t go into details, but the whole church imploded after that. It set me out looking for something different, something that spoke to me. That was when I heard the good news about our Dark Lord! Some would say I’m bad, that I’m evil. I’d challenge them to check their perspective. I’m evil according to who, the Bible? Everyone’s evil according to that. That’s how they get you and control you.

Describe your appearance in 10 words or less.
Some say I’m like an alt-model, but that’s pretty reductivist.

Do you have a moral code? If so what is it?
I’d say moral codes are the whole problem with humanity right now. It has us all as slaves to Heaven’s endless rulebook, and it’s so arbitrary! Well, I shouldn’t say arbitrary. It’s really about God and all of his prudish angels trying to control our bodies and our minds like good little sheep. I don’t buy into any of that. I look out for my fellow acolytes, but if I have an ethos I would say it’s all about liberating humanity from those oppressive bible-thumpers. That’s my cause. Morality doesn’t necessarily enter into it, because it’s really more about the objective. If you want to liberate people, sometimes that means getting your hands dirty, and that’s something I’ve shown I’m totally willing to do. It’s all for the greater good.

Would you kill for those you love?
I’ve done more than my share of wetwork for my church and for my fellow acolytes. It’s all part of serving the Dark Lord’s cause. People who stand in the way often deserve what’s coming to them. I’ve even had to do some of the other acolytes in. Reverend Matt has sent me after members of our church that have turned their back on us. Those have been the hardest. Not that I don’t understand that we have to get rid of traitors, they pose the biggest threat to us since they know too much, but because knowing they were so close to really living for themselves. They almost broke Heaven’s hold over their mind and body. It’s always a shame, but I suppose I’m doing them a service.

Would you die for those you love?
There was a man named Ethan, he was a Hell of a Necromancer. He almost brought Heaven to its knees. I didn’t know him for very long, but I wish I’d been there when he made his last stand fighting by his side. I would’ve died for him, but he turned me away. He said I could do more, inspire more if I stayed alive. He might’ve been right, but it would’ve been amazing to go out in a blaze of glory with him.

Do you have a family? Tell us about them.
I don’t really talk to them anymore. After my Betrayal Rite, the thing I had to do to join my church and become an acolyte, it caused a big public scandal. They disowned me. My fellow acolytes and Reverend Matt, my Sorcerer, they’re my family now. And I’m always out recruiting, bringing more people into the fold. Reverend Matt says I’m one of the best in his entire flock.

Tell Us About Your World

Please give us a little information about the world in which you live.
Well, I’m from the DC suburbs. I suppose that is like a whole separate world. So much politics, news, and media. I follow all of it, but it’s more like a disease. The whole system sickens me, because in the end it’s nothing but a big web of oppression designed to keep us all in line and marching to Heaven’s drum.

Do you travel in the course of your adventures? If so where?
Occasionally I go out of town to pick up relics, network with other acolytes, and even recruit some out-of-towners that can be helpful to our cause. Sometimes I go to less normal places, I’ve even seen parts of Hell in visions. Mostly I stay around the DC area. That’s where Reverend Matt and the Pit Lords need me.

Does your world have magic? If so how is it viewed in your world?
You know, most people don’t know about it, but magic’s kinda common. Well, not that common, but it’s certainly out there. Most people think it’s not real, but it’s all around them. Maybe not one in a hundred, or even one in a thousand, but at least one in every ten thousand either has some innate power or has figured out how to claim some for themselves. Those of us that serve Hell can get it even if we don’t have any innate talents by forming a Covenant with a Demon (“selling your soul” like most people say really dumbs down the significance of the bond it forms) or, how I’ve gotten most of my powers, by bringing people into the fold. The more souls we turn to Hell’s cause, the greater our power grows. That’s why Reverend Matt is so strong, he’s done both and brought countless souls over to the service of the Dark Lord.

Others, of course, get their powers from different places. The churchies get it through praying, following the rules, doing the bidding of the Seraphim, whatever it is that earns them God’s favor with its accompanying blessings and consecrations. The Grays, though? The people that serve Limbo? I honestly have to admit I don’t understand how their power works. There’s a reason people call the Demigod running the whole show “Chaos.” From what I understand, it’s just sort of available to them? Where’s the fun in that? It sounds like cheating, but I understand it’s much harder to call on and control than the uncut stuff we get from Hell.

Does your world have different races of people? If so do they get on with one another?
Race is a social construct, like religion. Something the powers that be have created to keep us fighting among each other instead of uniting and overthrowing our real oppressors. At least, that’s if you consider people, or humanity alone. There are people out there that are not quite human, I guess. I recently met a Defiler, someone who’s kept alive by having Demon blood injected into them. He certainly doesn’t look very human any more, he’s all mutated. Then there are the other hybrids. There are half-Demons, you may have heard of them. The ignorant call them Devilkin. They look mostly human but typically have a lot of arcane power with them. Then there’s the Nephilim, what’s born when a human and an Angel have carnal relations. That’s naturally frowned upon, by almost everyone. The right way for an Angel and a human to have children creates an Archon. They conceive it via immaculate conception, like Jesus, I guess. They, I don’t know, hold hands in a church for awhile until it just happens? I’m no expert on that stuff.

Does your world have any supernatural/mystical beings? Please tell us about some.
There are countless! So many different flavors of Demons, Angels and celestial creatures, and then there’s all the other stuff that comes from Limbo. I’ve gotten to know a lot of the Demons, though. Since Reverend Matt is a Summoner, he can pull them from Hell to our world. It really comes in handy when we have to deal with hostiles from Heaven or Limbo. I’ve seen Cerberi, those cute and vicious three-headed dogs that roam all of Hell’s Circles. I’ve also spoken with a Malthus, the pink bird-man sorcerors of Hate’s Circle. I’ve even beheld the beauty of a Sitri, the seductive life-draining Demons that wander Lust’s Circle. I’ve also seen an Astaroth, another of Hate’s creatures with it’s spiny arms and body. I never care for those, though. I’m always worried I’m going to trip and kill myself just running into it. They’re seriously sharp, with those knife-like quills popping out of all of its body.

Within your civilisation what do you think is the most important discovery/invention?
I don’t know how any of us would do what we do without the internet, particularly the Deep Web. It’s where I can connect to so many other servants of Hell, meet the disaffected, rejected people that are ripe for hearing the good news of our Dark Lord. It’s how I found Reverend Matt and his flock, after all. The possibilities for connecting with like-minded or susceptible people are endless . . .

Author notes:
Book(s) in which this character appears plus links
Hand of Chaos – https://amzn.com/B00F64S25A
Prophet of Chaos – https://amzn.com/B01D8RE7DW

Author name – J. Hamlet

Website/Blog/Author pages etc. – http://www.jchamlet.com, http://www.twitter.com/jayhamlet

button-mbt
Synopsis

Nathaniel is a man of many gifts. First and foremost is the power of Prophecy. Whenever he sleeps, he dreams of triumphs and tragedies alike, and how to either make them happen or prevent them. With that knowledge, he’s thwarted the world-shaking schemes of Angels and Demons alike. Not surprisingly, every elite agent of both Heaven and Hell are always hunting him, wanting to be the one to take down the notorious man known to most as The Prophet. He’s spent most of his life as a homeless drifter: hiding, dreaming, and passing along the intel from his revelations to those who can take actions, be they government agents, freelance wizards, or less savory occult figures.

Recently, he’s been plagued by a series of recurring visions that threaten to force him out of his shadowy life and into the spotlight. He’s seen the world ready to plummet into a new dark ages. A Senator with presidential aspirations is on one side, backed by the most ruthless of Heaven’s forces and seeking to transform the world into a brutal theocracy. A church of Demon-worshipping terrorists also stand ready to launch a bloody revolution through mass murders, demonic possession, and civil war that will literally bring about Hell on earth. Nathaniel stands in the middle, struggling to stop both sides from realizing their chosen versions of humanity’s future with everything in his mystical arsenal. And he can’t do it alone.

 
 
Author Bio

J. Hamlet has made what you might call a career out of being a red tape slinger and beltway bandit and has lived in and around Washington, DC for most of his adult life. Originally from the dirty sands of Chesapeake, VA, he’s been writing to pass the time and exorcise his demons since he was a teenager. He wrote many horrible books back then. These are better, at least he hopes so. His writing blends many different genres: spy thriller, supernatural thriller, and philosophy into an intoxicating and original mash. He also enjoys nerding out about food, baking, beer, homebrewing, and taking too many pictures of his dog.

 
Social Media Links

Website  |  Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Goodreads  |  Pinterest  |  Tumblr

 
Giveaway:  There is a giveaway for this tour. One (1) $25 Amazon giftcard and five (5) $10 Amazon giftcards. Ends 6/17. Open Internationally. Void where prohibited.
 
