Tags

, , , ,

I’ve diverged a little from fantasy for my latest release. Shattered Mirror is a collection dark poems covering themes such as war, politics, nature, fantasy, and the vagaries of life.  These have been written over a good number of years and some do feature in other anthologies but, for the most part, they have not been published together before.

Poetry, I think, is one of the deepest and most personal mediums, and often shows a good deal about the writer. For me, it helps me deal with the darkness and idiocy of the world in general, a way of trying to make order of the chaos you might say. Poetry tends to be a marmite genre – either you love it or hate it. I wonder why that is. Perhaps poetry is akin to music – something which resonates in our souls (or not). The epic storytellers of old, the bards and the minstrels used it to recount the great deeds, and the soldier poets of the First World War told used it to recount the great dead.

One of the favourite books from my childhood was an old book of poetry, which my father would read to me. Kipling, Masefield, Wilfred Owen, and so many more. Inspiration from history, from soul and heart were they as I heard those words, then later, read them for myself.

Anyway I digress!  Currently the book is only on Amazon but will find it’s way to the other stores shortly.

Shattered Mirror: A Poetry Collection

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01IL6L8FK

https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B01IL6L8FK

(cover art image via fotolia (c)Bonezboyz)

Shattered Mirror1

