Tags

, , ,

 

Tell Us About Yourself

Name: Nalia

Age: 16

Please tell us a little about yourself. I was born on a planet much like earth, but with two moons, I live in a village called the Lost Winds. This planet is situated in another galaxy far away from the galaxy where the blue planet Earth is. However, this planet is also blue and life has existed here for billions of years. The essential celestial gasses such oxygen, hydrogen, carbon- dioxide and nitrogen have also made us much like the people of the planet earth.
Describe your appearance in 10 words or less. I look like a human, but taller and thinner than an average human girl of my age. I have curly blue long hair all the way to the waist and a leopard skin. I have three fingers on two hands and three toes on two large feet. My eyes are blue and small serrated teeth. I have an upturned nose. I don’t have eye-brows, but a narrow forehead. I wrap myself with a sarong, like piece of cloth.
Do you have a moral code? If so what is it? I am a survivor in a volatile world beset with poverty. Political upheavals have destroyed the social fabric of our village. I try what needs to be done within the parameters of my ability. I am a nondescript person of no consequence. But I’m also fiercely independent. These are the circumstances that have shaped me.

Would you kill for those you love? I have not been in that situation, so I don’t know. I am just trying to be alive. But I know that I’m no killer, but a lover.
Would you die for those you love? Probably not. I’m also selfish. I want to live and try to help others to live.
What would you say are your strengths and weaknesses? My poverty cripples me somewhat. But I am resilient and hard-working. I am also clever. I know how to survive.

Do you have any relationships you prize above others? Why? My relationship with my friend, Tahu was unique. She and I grew up together; went to the same school in our village until she left for the city. I have a special bond with her. I have strong feelings for her.
Do you like animals? Do you have any pets/animal companions? I like farm animals. Cows and goats, for instance. We sell them as prized breed, drink and sell their milk for sustenance.

Do you have a family? Tell us about them. Yes. I have a mother and a father. My brother was adopted by my parents. He was a foundling, and left to die as a toddler of three, when my father found him on the edge of the village.
Can you remember something from your childhood which influences your behaviour? How do you think it influences you? I have seen pretty horrific stuff in this short life. My experience has hardened me somewhat. I have no illusions about reality. It is a harsh place and this has made me selfish. However, I do believe it could be much worse. I still love my dear family and want to get them the best possible life I could. All this is probably reflected in my dreams but I’ve heard far worse happenings with far-fetched stories.
Do you have any phobias? Not that I know of. I am very brave.
Please give us an interesting and unusual fact about yourself. My dreaming is unusual and interesting. I have seen a whole spectrum of life go by in my dreams. I have seen desperation among my friends that has driven them out of the village in search of a safe land. This herd instinct of self-organization has been depicted. Because I also see myself knitting these stories in pink honey comb pattern. It is almost as though I am pulling their strings of fate from a long unending yarn. In Greek, it’s called moirae.

And then I also see a whole new world of happiness, free of fear and pain. This is a particularly interesting episode. It almost feels as though a surreal utopia called Shingdi, of the imagination has come about. A transformation into a transcendental reality of a metaphysical world has occurred; found only in death. However, I never wake to see the reality.

Tell Us About Your World

Please give us a little information about the world in which you live.

Two moons orbit in my planet. There is much turbulence here as the forces of two moons dominate our moods and philosophies. It is a very strange world which is almost Earth-like, yet people speak a language not spoken on Earth. There is intergalactic interactions  between my planet and other planets from various galaxies. Earthlings have traveled through our space. We know about their culture, occupations, habits and customs as they know of ours. There is much exchange of culture.
Does your world have religion or other spiritual beliefs? If so do you follow one of them? Please describe (briefly) how this affects your behaviour. Yes, people have a faith in the Lost Winds called Mohammedan. But I am no follower of any faith. My folks in the village follow several faiths. Faith does not seem to influence much in the way of any moral standing on this planet. People go about their chores in life, killing, cheating, loving as usual. Faith does not seem to take much effect in the moral conduct of my people. On Draviland, there is another faith called the Jesuit faith which is predominant there.

Do you travel in the course of your adventures? If so where? Yes. I travel to the city from the village in dreams. And I also travel to faraway galaxies and countries separated by great many oceans and space.
Name and describe a food from your world. Salted fish. Wet rice. Grass tea.

Does your world have magic? If so how is it viewed in your world? Music and natural features are magical. A planet of orange soils, purple waves and black streams. Apart from it everything else is cold reality. However, the dream carries other elements from other planets in peculiar, magical blends.

What form of politics is dominant in your world? (Democracy, Theocracy, Meritocracy, Monarchy, Kakistocracy etc.) It is democratic but has a strange combination, verging almost on autocracy and theocracy. The rule of law allows for the party in power to kill the opposition or any dissenting factor in the society. And yet, they come to power through people’s votes and elections. The moment they come to power, they want to remain in power for life like anointed monarchies. People, don’t seem to matter much after that. Because, in the hands of such a ruling party, governance basically becomes self-serving and dictatorial.

Does your world have different races of people? If so do they get on with one another?Yes. Humans from planet earth can settle here. They are free to choose. The society won’t stop them.

Name a couple of myths and legends particular to your culture/people. Earthly banshies are a popular legend and myth which seeped into the culture.

What is the technology level for your world/place of residence? What item would you not be able to live without? It is not a particularly tech world. But what they would not be able to live without is the winged space ships called the buraq to transport people from one galaxy to another. However, there is pervasive use of telephones in some more advanced countries on the planet.

Does your world have any supernatural/mystical beings? Please tell us about some. The Buraq is a mythological winged animal fashioned to build our space ship. It is operated by the power of lightning. In the course of one night, Buraq could transport people across space from one galaxy to another at the speed of light.

Within your civilisation what do you think is the most important discovery/invention?The use of telephones and the space-ship.

Name three persons of influence/renown within your society and tell why they are influential (Could be someone like Christ/Mandela/Queen Elizabeth or a renowned figure from a non-human/fantasy world.) Mohammedan and Jesuit have influenced people’s religion. Buraq is a mythological non-human/fantasy which has shaped the spaceship and intergalactic travels.

Author notes:

Book(s) in which this character appears plus links

Nalia appears in Moirae only.

Author name: Mehreen Ahmed
Website/Blog/Author pages etc.

Moirae on Amazon:  https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01LYMIGTW

Website:  http://www.cosmicteapot.net

Facebook:  https://www.facebook.com/mehreen.ahmed.3551

Amazon author page: https://amazon.com/author/amazon.com.mehreenahmed

 

