Tags

, , ,

Who are you? I’m Mark A Morris – I’m an English guy who works as an engineer in local government but wish I was writing instead. I’m counting down the years until I retire so I can devote more time to word-wranging but hope I can win the lottery so I can bring my time-table forward.

Tell us about your Boo! Story: It’s called Miss Clemency Fisher and it’s largely about a man who becomes intrigued by a woman. He sees her in trouble – or so he thinks – and then decides to try to rescue her. Of course, things aren’t as easy as he expects them to be and events begin to take a turn toward the odd. It’s a short fiction that I fully expect to use as the basis for a full-length novel soon, so watch this space!

What else have you written? I’ve written scores – or even hundreds – of pieces of flash fiction and have a number of works in progress which span genres as widely divergent as Young Adult dystopia, horror, paranormal romance, science fiction, erotica – yes, I said erotica – noir fiction and contemporary romance and thrillers. I also write poetry and song lyrics but consider those to be my weaker efforts compared to my prose and narrative work.

What frightens you the most? Nothing. Or the Void. I’d seriously freak out it I was confined in a sensory deprivation chamber and my biggest fear would be to trapped inside my own body with no ability to move and limited perception.

Have you ever seen a ghost? I believe I saw my mother when I was in my late teens. She died when I was fifteen and the next few years were difficult, to say the least. However, I was still able to motivate myself and when I won an award for the best student at a local college, I was convinced that I saw her in the audience when I looked out from the stage when I was receiving my prize.

What are you reading at the moment? I’ve always got several books on the go at the moment and I’m currently reading a murder mystery called A Siege of Bitterns by Steve Burrows, which is a police procedural with an ornithological twist, Zero Station by John Russell, which is an adventure set in Germany in the early 1930s, and a collection of short stories called Disintegration and Other Stories by Paula Acton. I’m enjoying all these, by the way!

If you could meet any living famous person for dinner who would it be and what would you eat? I’d love to meet Joss Whedon and it’d be cool to eat at a Dining in the Dark restaurant. I guess soup and anything requiring chopsticks might be out of the question but would love to eat either Indian or Italian food with him. I consider Whedon to be one of the best storytellers alive today and his skills in writing and direction probably make him the most influential man to ever create a narrative story.

If you could meet any dead famous person who would be and what would you have to eat? For a dead person, my choice would be Marilyn Monroe. She’s supremely iconic and people who met her and knew her well suggest that she was intelligent and wise as well as also being one of the most charismatic and glamorous people in modern times. As for what we ate – it’d have to be something messy that would result in her getting her clothes mussed up. A guy can only hope, right?

Which book do you see as the most influential in your life? It’s a hard decision and loving so many genres as I do makes the choice even more difficult. I’d hesitate between Neverwhere by Neil Gaiman and The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy but Gaiman would get it by a whisker. His narrative skills and wit are so consistent throughout all his writing but I believe that Neverwhere is faultless.

In the zombie apocalypse what would be your weapon of choice with which to defend yourself? I’d choose a Japanese katana. It’s long enough to clear a good-sized circle around you and sharp enough to slice through anything that tried to invade your personal space. It would also never need reloading and would still work well even when it lost its edge. I suspect my arms would grow tired long before it became too dull to be effective, so there’s very little to count against it.

Social media links etc.

I’m very much a newbie when it comes to promoting myself but I can usually be found behind the profile for Mark A Morris on Facebook. I’m also on Goodreads and I’m working on a blog page too, so I’ll be available on those and an increasing number of public media platforms soon.

