Tags

, , , , , , ,

Who are you?

Sure, we can start with the most open-ended question of all time.  My name is Erin, my nickname was Lark once upon a time, but you can call me anything, so long as you don’t call me late to dinner.  I’m an accountant/administrative assistant/whatever-the-hell-my-boss-tells-me-I-am by day and a writer and very occasionally editor by night.  I love to read, travel, read, drink coffee, read, take walks on the bead, and read.

Tell us about your Boo! story:

I have one story about friendship, life, love, and scary shit.  My second story is about brotherhood, friendship, love, bikes, and more scary shit.  Seriously, though, one of my stories is about two best friends who go on an impromptu Halloween road trip and find more than they bargained for.  The other story is about a motorcycle club and the lengths they will go to in order to keep people safe.  I just now realized that both of my stories deal with travel and unbreakable bonds, but that’s not too surprising, because those are both things I value immensely.

What else have your written?

I’ve written short stories in “Music Speaks” and the other three “Boo” books.  I’ve also written two full-length novels.  “Aftermath” is a contemporary fiction novel that I am still half-tempted to entitle “Everybody Dies” just so I don’t have to give a summary of the book.  “The Mage: Awakening” is a young adult urban fantasy book about a young woman who learns how to control her magical powers and tries to fit in in a new school and the mage society.  It’s the first in a series.  I hope the second book will be out soon.

What frightens you the most?

Being alone, or letting the people I love down.  And clowns.

Have you ever seen a ghost?

I have.  It was in an apartment, and it was massively angry.

What are you reading at the moment?

I’m just about to start “Dead Zone” by Stephen King.  I thought, given the election, it was fitting.

If you could meet any living famous person for dinner who would it be and what would you eat?

I would love to meet Jimmy Buffet.  I don’t think I could bring myself to say anything, but I’d be in Heaven.  We’d eat some sort of fish, I’m sure.  I’d let him choose.

If you could meet any dead famous person who would be and what would you have to eat?

I have to pick one?  Did you ever see the Gilmore Girls episode where they had all their friends come eat a fancy dinner at the Inn?  I want to do that with dead people.  Shakespeare and Byron and Amelia Earhart and Dorothy Parker and Sid Vicious and David Bowe and Rich Meyer and Cina Clark and Brian Wilson and so many more that I can’t even keep them straight.  People I love, people I admire, and people I aspire to be like would all be there.

Which book do you see as the most influential in your life?

Too many to choose from.  I would say Jim Butcher and all of his books changed my life in a major way, though.

In the zombie apocalypse what would be your weapon of choice with which to defend yourself?

I want Harley’s mallet and giant thews.

 

Social media links etc.

Aftermath: https://www.amazon.com/Aftermath-ebook/dp/B00DPYX64A/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1374341129&sr=8-1&keywords=Erin+McGowan

The Mage: Awakening: https://www.amazon.com/Mage-Awakening-Erin-McGowan-ebook/dp/B01BIR0AJO/ref=asap_bc?ie=UTF8

Music Speaks: https://www.amazon.com/Music-Speaks-LB-Clark-ebook/dp/B008C88QTE/ref=la_B008CBE1H2_1_6?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1478144407&sr=1-6

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/ErinMWrites/?ref=br_rs

Lonestar Book Works: http://www.lonestarbookworks.info/

 

