Tags

, , ,

Tell Us About Yourself
Name (s):  Erik Le Maître
Age:  I am not entirely certain, if you must know.  I believe I must be more than 40 years old.

Please tell us a little about yourself:  I was born in Rouen, France, to a stonecutter who has since died.  I have lived in Persia, Russia, Paris, London, and finally just outside of Aix.  I am a musician, an architect, a magician … and an assassin.

Describe your appearance in 10 words or less:  There is a reason I wear a mask.

Do you have a moral code? If so what is it?  If you harm me or those I love, woe be unto you.

Would you kill for those you love?  I have done so in the past, and would not hesitate to do so again.

Would you die for those you love?  I have not been called upon to do so, but perhaps … for Claire, or for Veronique.

What would you say are your strengths and weaknesses?  I would say they are the same.  I seek only to love and be loved … but society has made this a challenge for me.   Human interaction is difficult when one has been shunned.

Do you have any relationships you prize above others? Why?  My wife, Claire, has given me a beautiful daughter, Veronique.  These two are beyond rubies to me.  My daughter delights me daily, and my wife dared to love me when others would not or could not.  Things are not always easy between us, and she is not the happiest of mothers … but we strive together, and that is what matters to me.

Do you like animals? Do you have any pets/animal companions?  I have always liked them.  Claire and I have a cat, Pierre, and we had horses in London and Paris.

Do you have a family? Tell us about them.  My mother abandoned me to the tender mercies of a traveling show.  My father had died by then, and she did not want the burden of an ugly son.

My wife and daughter I have already mentioned.  I met Claire when she was working at the Opera Garnier, and we fell in love.  I am fortunate that she has blessed me with a child.

Can you remember something from your childhood which influences your behaviour? How do you think it influences you?  Being abandoned by your mother, and later being horsewhipped by an angry showman, will have an influence on you for a very long time, I should think.

Tell Us About Your World
Please give us a little information about the world in which you live.  Paris is such a beautiful place.  If you have not been, you really must.  The wide avenues, the beautiful parks and woods.  And then there is my opera house.  Truly, it is the crown jewel of this place.

Does your world have religion or other spiritual beliefs? If so do you follow one of them? Please describe (briefly) how this affects your behaviour.  France is a Catholic country, but I am no longer sure that I believe in God.  I have lived among the Moslems as well, and I do not see that our ideas about God are so very different.

Do you travel in the course of your adventures? If so where?  As I mentioned, I have lived in many places.  One of the places I lived for the longest was Persia, where I was in the employ of the shah and his khanoum.  The people there were, for the most part, very good.  I have one friend from those days, Zareh; he was the shah’s chief of police.  He has also come to France, and has been a great help to Claire and me.

Name a couple of myths and legends particular to your culture/people.  Do you suppose that the story of Saint Denis walking around with his head tucked under his own arm counts?  It is said that this is just what happened after the holy man was executed.

Name three persons of influence/renown within your society and tell why they are influential (Could be someone like Christ/Mandela/Queen Elizabeth or a renowned figure from a non-human/fantasy world.) This is an interesting one to answer.  Perhaps I would start with Gustav Eiffel, although I hate that monstrosity that he has designed.  I predict that one day his tower will be razed by the people of Paris with their bare hands.  Then Charles Garnier, the architect who designed the Opera Garnier.  I am responsible for the design of the basement where I dwell, but Garnier won the right to design the exterior and public spaces.  I must say that he has done an exceptional job of it.  Lastly, I would name Queen Victoria of England.  When we lived there, she and her late husband had done a great deal of admirable work to help the people of London.

Author notes:

Book(s) in which this character appears plus links:

In The Eye of The Beholder

In The Eye of The Storm

Through the Opera Glass

Seen Through the Phantom’s Eyes (Omnibus Edition)

Author name:  Sharon E. Cathcart
Blog and website contain sales links:

Blog:  sharonecathcart.wordpress.com

Website:  http://sharonecathcart.weebly.com

Facebook:  http://www.facebook.com/sharon.e.cathcart

Twitter:  @sharoncathcart

