Tags

, ,

Basic Book Spotlight

Title: The Forestal

Author: Blaze Ward

Genre: Epic Fantasy Poetry

 

Links etc. – http://www.knottedroadpress.com/book/the-forestal/

www.blazeward.com

 

“The opening”

Outcast

first: The Dawn of Hope

 

So many times I wanted to call you up

to apologize for everything

But there was always something else

to add

to the list of sins

 

One morning it was simply too much

I could no longer bear the weight

of the world

on my shoulders

when I had done so little

 

One mistake

became ten thousand

But when I sought to cry out

to end the farce

It became ten million

 

The only recourse left me

was to climb the highest mountain

Where you could not follow

and there find a kind of escape

Where the sins of mankind

were not mine alone to suffer for

 

You told me once

that you cared about me

In this dawn of a new year

I wonder if it might not be an end

to the night of madness

A dawn of hope

where the mistakes of yesterday

can be forgotten

In hopes of starting anew

without yesterday’s crimes

 

I had climbed the mountain in desperation

but looking back I see no path up

So I think I am safe here

where no one can follow

 

If we cannot end

this night of madness

I shall leave to make my own dawn

and forget you

to your high tower

and your troll

For I see the old desert

suddenly stretched out before me

It is

my own dawn of hope

Beginning

Forestal_600x900

 

