Swift Six Author Interview – Nathan Tudor #Fantasy

Name: Nathan Tudor

Please introduce yourself (250 words or so):

Hello, I’m Nathan Tudor! I’m a new author, having just published my first two books in early 2022. I write fantasy novels that blend epic scope with intimate character moments. Ancient beliefs and ideas have always interested me, so I take lots of inspiration from myths and archaic texts—philosophical, religious, magical, you name it!

I knew I wanted to be a storyteller pretty much my whole life, and I’m so excited to finally put my work out there for people to enjoy. The response from readers has been encouraging, and I look forward to writing and publishing many more books in the future.

Besides reading and writing books, I spend my days exchanging memes with friends on Discord, gaming (tabletop RPGs and video games), and hunting down great stories to devour! I tend to think in archetypal patterns and symbols, so I’ll often pace around late at night pondering whatever I’ve taken in most recently—whether it’s a superhero movie, a romance manga, or a Russian tragedy. My interests are all over the place, so I love talking to people about what they’re into and then taking those recommendations to fuel my own creative work. Speaking of which, I’m very fortunate to have a coterie of artistic friends, who help fuel my own passion by sharing their creations. Having comrades in this line of work is essential, since so much of the work itself is solitary.

Tell us about your book(s) – title, genre etc (short)

I have two books out right now, both in my epic historical fantasy series The Imperial Adept. The Empire’s Lion is book one, a 220,000 word doorstopper full of action, intrigue, and awesome magic.

Adept Initiate is the prequel, which I give away for free to all my newsletter subscribers; it tells the story of how Reiva, the protagonist of the series, trained to become the lethal arcane warrior we see in The Empire’s Lion.

When did you start your writing adventure? What was the inspiration for it?

When I was six or seven, I wrote a short story based on my favorite video game at the time. Ever since then, I’ve had an urge to write—I told all my friends back in third grade that I was working on a book, even though each ‘chapter’ was only a couple of paragraphs! As I grew up and read more, I developed a love for epic fantasy, studied the craft of writing, and got more and more possessed by the need to write a full novel and send it out into the world for others to read. That day has finally come!

What writing plans do you have for the future?

I have plenty of plans for after I finish the Imperial Adept trilogy! They’re all pretty much fantasy books (though I have some sci-fi ideas), but I don’t want to get pigeonholed as just writing historical fantasy. I hope readers will enjoy seeing the ways my different series share some common DNA despite occupying different subgenres.

What do you like to read?

I read epic fantasy for the most part, though I tend to hop around a lot. At any time I’m working my way through three or four books, usually a mixture of fantasy novels, a classic (maybe mythology or philosophy), and then some wild card that happened to catch my interest. Reading widely is important to me, as I often find inspiration in books that occupy different genres than my writing.

What piece of advice do you wish you’d had when you’d started your writing adventure?

I wish I had internalized the importance of regular discipline and habit. I published at twenty-three, which I suppose is relatively young, but I know I could have published sooner if I had stopped waiting for inspiration to strike and just buckled down to do the work!

Author bio and book synopsis

Bio:

Nathan Tudor has researched ancient religion at Oxford, traveled the seven continents, and mastered the art of speaking in the third person. His debut novel The Empire’s Lion tells an epic story filled with action, identity, and the struggle to do what is right in an upside-down world

When he’s not writing or reading, Nathan can be found debating matters of no particular consequence with his friends, falling down research rabbit holes, and fiddling with a hand-crank coffee grinder that’s been stuck for the last few months.

Allegations that he hired an alchemist to give him the tread of a cat and the ears of a fox are categorically false.

Synopsis for The Empire’s Lion:

She left a slave. She returns a conqueror.

As an Adept, Reiva blasts fire from her hands and leaps over walls. But when her first solo mission leaves her half-dead amidst a heap of massacred allies, she gets just one chance at redemption.

The Empire orders her to crush the one kingdom she thought she would never see again: Talynis, the land of her birth, the land she left in chains.

Standing in her way is the Wolf, a vicious assassin hellbent on killing Adepts—and a single cut from his cursed blade will destroy Reiva’s magic forever.

Even if she can survive, victory may come at a price too high to pay…

The Empire’s Lion is an epic military fantasy filled with action and intrigue set in a war-torn, magic-filled world perfect for fans of Brandon Sanderson, Guy Gavriel Kay, and Steven Erikson.

Links/Social media

The Empire’s Lion: https://books2read.com/u/3n2GLP

Website/Free Book: https://nathantudor.com/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/NathTudorBooks

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/nathantudorauthor

Amazon Author: https://www.amazon.com/author/nathantudor

BookBub: https://www.bookbub.com/profile/nathan-tudor

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/22106843.Nathan_Tudor

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.