Reader interview – Lilly Van Horn

Library of Erana Reader Interview – Number One.  Welcome to Lilly Van Horn.

Where are you from?

The United States.

On average how many books do you read in a month? 

Five.

Why are books important to you and what does reading bring to your life? 

They keep my imagination active and keep me learning. They bring much needed relaxation and escape from a worsening world.

What genres do you prefer and why?

I prefer fantasy and sci-fi with erotic elements.

Do you have a favourite book or author, why do you think you like this book/author so much? 

Several! Let’s see if I can narrow it down… My current favorite is An Unexpected Return by Jessica E. Subject because her writing is beautiful, the perfect amount of description and character development, and the sex is hot.

What medium do you prefer – e-books, audiobooks or paper books? Would you care to expand on this? 

I used to be strictly paper books but I’ve moved on to eBooks because it’s so easy to read them on my treadmill. Being able to hold it with one hand or not at all is so worth it! But, if I love the book, I usually buy the paperback or hardback to support the author even more.

How do you usually find the books you read? For example: recommendations from friends, promotion on social networks, your local library, following authors you already know? 

As an author, I read authors who I am friends with or have connections with first. Then I read books recommended by my friends. Reviews do play a small part.

When choosing a book what makes you stop and give it a second look? What makes you turn away? Do you read reviews by others and if so do they influence the choice? 

A great cover! A bad cover will make me pass it up. I still haven’t read the Sookie books because I hate those covers. I definitely read reviews but I take them with a grain of salt because not every book is for everyone. Before buying I MUST be able to read an excerpt or I don’t buy it.

What is the most important aspect in a book for you? Plot? Characterisation? Well written etc.? 

All of the above. As an author I notice everything, even formatting. The most important thing though would have to be if the story pulls me in and the characters keep me wanting to read.

What aspects turn you off from a book? Are there things you avoid? 

Poor descriptions or cold writing (very little emotion) in traditionally published. For self-published, bad grammar, improper switching of points of view, and the same things listed for trad pubbing. For both: bad formatting is a huge pet peeve.

Do you think bricks and mortar bookshops are in decline?

Absolutely. It’s unfortunate because I love them. But then, they also demand a minimum of 45% off an author’s book just to stock them so they aren’t exactly author friendly. I know they have overhead and such but that leaves an author change in their pocket which is ridiculous considering how much work goes into a novel.

3 thoughts on “Reader interview – Lilly Van Horn

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.