Character Interview Number Thirty – Rajveer

Tell Us About Yourself
Name (s) Rajveer of the Guhilas of Mewar

Age 27… forever.
Please tell us a little about yourself.

My body died when I was twenty-seven. I don’t know what to call myself now. I look exactly like I did then – if a little paler. A kshatriya (warrior) of Chittor turned into a rakshasa (demon) by a foreign bloodsucker… I had to leave Chittorgarh at some point, so they didn’t notice I’m not ageing anymore.

Describe your appearance in 10 words or less. Tall, handsome and honey-eyed warrior.

Do you have a moral code? If so what is it? The kshatriyadharma enjoins the Rajput male to die the good death on the field of battle and to maintain his personal honor and masculine integrity in all situations. The Rajput women have their own codes, the most exacting demand of which is to join her dead husband on the funeral pyre and become a virtuous woman by perishing in the flames.
Would you kill for those you love? I have killed to defend my king and my people. Not so much to survive. And I don’t kill anymore. I mean, I feed on blood now, but I don’t need to drain anyone to go on.

Would you die for those you love? Unfortunately, I’ve become very hard to kill. I don’t feed on human blood unless it’s enemies in the heat of the battle, and this makes me stronger and almost invulnerable…

Do you have any relationships you prize above others? Why I had three wives, the most loved being Charumati, but since I’ve started my second life, I’ve been quite lonely. No love relationships and even friendship is hard. My only “family” is my fledgling, Shashank.

Do you like animals? Do you have any pets/animal companions? I feed on animals. Either that or I feed on you…

Do you have a family? Tell us about them. I lost them to time and my newly found immortality. I’m supposedly a member of a coven, but I wouldn’t call them family. They don’t even have the same origin that I do.

Please give us an interesting and unusual fact about yourself. In spite of my newly found strength and enhanced senses, I’m a warrior, so I still wear my faithful sword by my side. I’m often teased for it, but I don’t care. I still have my kshatriya pride.

Tell Us About Your World

Does your world have religion or other spiritual beliefs? If so do you follow one of them? Please describe (briefly) how this affects your behaviour. I was raised Hindu – I follow the Rig Veda – which makes it hard for me to feed on human blood. I was turned by a Celtic Druid and my sister-in-darkness was raised Christian. I deal with Jains on a regular basis and I’m getting to know Buddhists and Muslims as well.

Do you travel in the course of your adventures? If so where? Northern Hindustan. I can’t stay put for long or they’d notice I don’t age. So, I was born in Chittorgarh, then visited the four cities of Delhi before it was destroyed by Timur the Lame, and then Varanasi, Gwalior, Agra, Lahore…

What form of politics is dominant in your world? (Democracy, Theocracy, Meritocracy, Monarchy, Kakistocracy etc.) Delhi sultanate, kingdoms and eventually the Mughal empire…

Does your world have any supernatural/mystical beings? Please tell us about some.  The coven. They’re demonic bloodsuckers. Their bite is poisonous, it either kills you or turns you. Although only Menka can make new ones, everybody else is forbidden… I’m glad I’m not one of her “children” – although I’m not much better myself. But actually neither of us belong to the myths and legends of our country. We’re not rakshasa, gayal, pacu pati, vetala or any other creatures such as the one in the Baital Pachisi (a.k.a. King Vikram and the vampire in a 19th century translation)

Name three persons of influence/renown within your society and tell why they are influential (Could be someone like Christ/Mandela/Queen Elizabeth or a renowned figure from a non-human/fantasy world.) My king, Rana Ratan, and his beautiful wife Rani Padmini who boldly perished in the siege of Chittor when Sultan Alauddin attacked us – a glorious story of true Rajput pride. Babur, the first Mughal emperor, who brought those beautiful persian gardens to Hindustan. And his grandson Akbar, the greatest of all.

Author notes:

Book(s) in which this character appears plus links

Rajveer the Vampire

A “sun clan” warrior can never become a true child of darkness.
In 14th century India, Rajveer, a proud Rajput warrior of a Suryavanshi clan, is turned into a bloodsucker by an ancient Celtic vampire. Immortal, he loses his family to war and time and travels through northern India, seeing history unfold. Threatened by both human wars and evil vampires, can he remain true to his sworn vow not to take human lives?
A vampire’s journey through centuries.

Rajveer the Vampire is now available on Amazon for pre-order. Amazon India has the price of INR250.

The price might go up on the release date, November 1, 2015, so order it now.

Pre-order on Apple US, Barnes&NobleKobo and Smashwords.

Author name

Barbara G.Tarn
Website/Blog/Author pages etc.

blog: http://creativebarbwire.wordpress.com/

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Barb-aka-Barbara-GTarn/175559797281

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/4717133.Barbara_G_Tarn

Author Central http://www.amazon.com/Barbara-G.Tarn/e/B0050P0R2G
Publisher’s page with info on all the books: http://www.unicornproductionsbooks.com/

One thought on “Character Interview Number Thirty – Rajveer

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.