Tags

, ,

Today I welcome Mandy Baker when she stops by on her blog tour.

Where are you from and where do you live now? I am originally from Northern California. I currently live in South Eastern Connecticut.

Please tell us a little about your writing – for example genre, title, etc. My debut novel, The Curse is along the lines of a fantasy fiction. It is the first of what I hope will become a series (I am currently working on book number two). The Curse, as the title suggests has a curse, special abilities and a few unexpected twists and turns along the way.

Who or what are your inspirations/influences? My biggest inspiration is my husband. He is my rock and has been so supportive through my journey to turn my passion into (hopefully) a career. He actually is why I wrote my first novel. He fell in love with a short story I wrote and that lead to The Curse!

My biggest influences on my writing are probably Stephen King and Ernest Hemingway. I fell in love with both of them when I was a teenager and still find inspiration in their works today.

Do you have a favourite character? If so why? Funnily enough, my favourite character in my book is a secondary character named, Bob. Bob is a British archaeologist who hates tea, loves coffee and giving Alex, the main character, a hard time. But, deep down he has a heart of gold and would do anything for his friends.

Is there a message conveyed within your writing? The message of The Curse would probably be to trust yourself, your instincts and your abilities. Also, true love can survive the obstacles put in its path. If the love is true, it will overcome anything that is put in its way.

In what formats are your books available? (E-books, print, large print audio) Are you intending to expand these? (If applicable) My book is available in both print and E-book for Kindle.

What are your opinions about authors commenting on reviews? How important are reviews? I think that reviews are very important. Reviews from readers fuel future sales and help to promote a book. However, I also believe that as a writer, it is our job to take the good with the bad, not to argue a review or comment on it. We have to ingest what is said about our work and if it is applicable, make changes or simply let it roll off our backs and not let it discourage us in the future.

What experiences can a book provide that a movie or video game cannot? A book allows the audience to use their imaginations. Our imagination is one of the greatest gifts that we have and it should be stretched and used as much as possible. When we are watching a movie or playing a video game, everything is laid out for us. There is no room to add in our own thoughts. With a book, however, the audience can fill the in blanks as they go and that makes a book a unique experience for each reader.

What three pieces of advice would you give to new writers? First, if it is your passion, pursue it. Second, never give up. Third, don’t let anyone or anything discourage you from going after your dream.

Most authors also like to read, what books do you enjoy? What book(s) have you just finished? I love to read. Lately, I have not had much time to read for pleasure. I am in the home stretch of earning my Bachelor’s in English, so almost all of my reading has been for my classes. Most recently I read Arabian Nights and Days by Naguib Mafouz, and I was really impressed by it. I love Stephen King and look forward to reading his new works. Currently, however, I am reading The Hobbit.

Do you have a favourite movie? As much as I love reading, I am also a pretty big movie buff. It is hard for me to choose one favourite. One of them would be Jurassic Park. I also love Hitchcock movies and classics like Casablanca and The Way We Were. I’m a big fan of Disney movies. I also love a good action movie like Die Hard or Transporter.

Do you have any pets? I do! I have a kitty named, Missy. She is my baby girl and constant companion. My husband is in the US Coast Guard, and she has been with us from the beginning. We got her from a shelter right after he joined and she has been with us for the past eleven years!

Can you give us a silly fact about yourself? I can sit alone and watch horror movies all day without any problem, but, I cannot open the tubes of Pillsbury rolls and I hate jack-in-the-box toys. The anticipation of the pop is too much for me! I make my husband open the rolls!

Here’s an interview with character Alex.

Tell Us About Yourself

Name (s)- Alex

Age- mid-thirties

Please tell us a little about yourself. I used to be a treasure hunter, and I was good at it. Some of my methods were, you might say, questionable but they got the job done. I was ready to leave that life, but needed a push to take that step. That’s when Liz came bursting into my world and turned it upside down. I fell in love with her instantly and she gave me the shove to change my ways. Now, I am an archaeologist like her and we work together for a major museum in New York.

Describe your appearance in 10 words or less. Tall, rugged, handsome, muscular, dark hair/eyes, need a shave

Do you have a moral code? If so what is it? I didn’t used to. I did what I had to in order to survive. Now, I live to do the right thing. I want to be remembered for the good things I’ve done, not the questionable ones.

Would you kill for those you love? I would. I don’t think anything more needs to be said about that.

Would you die for those you love? I would do anything to protect Liz.

What would you say are your strengths and weaknesses? Strengths would be my life experiences and my ability to solve a puzzle laid out in front of me.

Weaknesses, my wife would tell is my stubbornness. I tend to be a little bit hard headed. (She is standing behind me going, “A little?”)

Do you have any relationships you prize above others? Why? My relationship with my wife. She saved me. I don’t know where I’d be without her.

As much as it pains me to say it, I would also say the relationship with our friend/boss Bob. He’s been through a lot with us and vice versa.

Do you like animals? Do you have any pets/animal companions? Liz and I both love animals. However, we travel so much for work that it makes it difficult to have one. Maybe one day.

Do you have a family? Tell us about them. Liz and Bob are my family. I don’t talk about anyone else.

Can you remember something from your childhood which influences your behaviour? How do you think it influences you? I try to forget my childhood. I don’t like to talk about it. But, yes, it has influenced me in many ways both good and bad.

Do you have any phobias? I’m not sure you would call it a phobia, but my biggest fear is losing Liz.

Please give us an interesting and unusual fact about yourself. I have travelled the world and still prefer to be sitting on the porch of my cabin in the woods watching the sunset.

Tell Us About Your World

Please give us a little information about the world in which you live. I live in the real world, most of the time. Although, I will let you in on a little secret….you ready? There is more out there than you think and not everything is as it seems.

Do you travel in the course of your adventures? I’ve travelled around the world and back again. I’ve been to deserts in Egypt, islands in the Caribbean and cities in every country.

Does your world have magic? If so how is it viewed in your world? That’s an interesting question. I have recently learned that magic is closer to me than I ever could have imagined.

Name a couple of myths and legends particular to your culture/people. I recently ran into this one curse. I didn’t like it very much. But, hey, curses exist..who knew?

Does your world have any supernatural/mystical beings? Please tell us about some. I got up close and personal with a “mystical being” not too long ago. Don’t worry though, I took care of him. And he never even saw it coming!

*****

Synopsis

Alex was a controversial treasure hunter. Until the day Liz came storming into his life and changed his world forever. Now, an archeologist on a dig in the California desert, everything goes terribly wrong and everyone, including Liz, disappears. It is up to Alex to follow the clues and find the answers. Will he be able to trust his heart and rescue Liz? Or will hard headedness and self-doubt lose her to the curse for all eternity?

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Mia's Point Of View



Alex was a controversial treasure hunter. Until the day Liz came storming into his life and changed his world forever. Now, an archeologist on a dig in the California desert, everything goes terribly wrong and everyone, including Liz, disappears. It is up to Alex to follow the clues and find the answers. Will he be able to trust his heart and rescue Liz? Or will hard headedness and self-doubt lose her to the curse for all eternity?

Book Page: On Goodreads

Buy Links: Amazon Paperback  | Amazon e-book |   Barnes & Noble

 Meet Mandy:

 
 
Hosted by Mia
Mia's Point Of View
