Character Interview Number Five – Princess Anyu

Tell Us About Yourself

Name (s)  Princess Anyu

Age:  34 yen-ars (102 Earth years)

Please tell us a little about yourself. I was born on BE 6927, beinor 152 to Queen Constance of house Gurun, the same beinor (day) her prince consort, Lord Engineer Kian of house Xing-li was slain by Lord Yelu in the Great Hall of the Assembly during a session of the Great Council.

With terrorists apparently targeting my extended family (my maternal grandfather, King Kendric I, was slain in the throne room before my birth), my mother forced me to learn fencing, something I hated.  Instead, I love science and love the courtly ways of palace life, especially dancing and fine food.

In addition to the rank of “princess,” I have earned a place among the engineers of house Xing-li to which Prince Kian also belonged.   Though many say my skill with a blade is unmatched among Beinarian women, it is my prowess as a scientist that gives me the greater pleasure.

Would you kill for those you love? I do not know.  Despite the dangers around my family, this has never been tested.

Would you die for those you love? Yes.  In fact, I offered to defy our mother in order to stay with my sister Leonora as Lord Yelu’s forces closed in on the palace, perfectly willing to share the same fate as her.  Leonora had to practically force me to leave her side.

What would you say are your strengths and weaknesses? I am a brilliant scientist with a passion for learning.  This is both a strength and a weakness as my curiosity can put me into harm’s way.

I am very talented with a sword, despite not particularly liking fencing or any sort of martial arts.  I would much rather dance.

Do you have a family? My mother, Queen Constance of house Gurun

Older brother, Prince Caranden (born BE 6917, beinor 1)

Older sister, Princess Leonora (born BE 6919, beinor 33)

Can you remember something from your childhood which influences your behaviour? I am still 16 yen-ars away from coming of age, so legally I am still a “child.”

Lately dreams and visions come to me which both intrigue and frighten me.  I hear voices that others do not hear.  I know things others do not know.  I do not understand any of this, only that one night I felt called to a secret chamber in the palace where I saw a hidden star craft.  A strange man appeared before me, beckoning me to come away from the sight.

 

Tell Us About your world

 

Please give us a little information about the world in which you live. B345A15 Quartus, also known as planet Beinan, has a thick upper atmosphere that protects us from the harshest effects of living close to such a hot, bright sun.  Four continents (Dong-Bei, Xi-Bei, Dong-Nan Fang, and Xi-Nan Fang) support diverse life.  Our largest ocean is called the Amba Mederi (ocean).  Major cities include the capital city of Hejing, the coastal city of Bira Hecen, and north polar city Olos-Mir in Dong-Bei and Nan-li City in Xi-Nan Fang.

Does your world have religion or other spiritual beliefs? We have two major religions.  The dominate religion believes in a trinity goddess and is headed by our high priestess.  Less common is the belief in a single male god.

Do you travel in the course of your adventures? If so where? I am on my way to the primitive planet D425E25 Tertius, driven to that very hostile world in another galaxy by Lord Yelu’s coup d’etat against my family.

On that planet there is no nirlar (chlorine gas) to breathe, though I have heard nirlar exists in compounds like natrium-nirlar (sodium chloride).  Instead, fully twenty percent of that world’s atmosphere is made of bilast and dilast which are lethal all Beinarian life.

What form of politics is dominant in your world?  Beinan is ruled by a constitutional monarchy held accountable to and impeachable by the Great Council, a parliamentary body consisting of representatives from all nine recognized noble houses.  Kings and Queens of Beinan hold both executive and supreme judicial authority, having the final say in all criminal trials and sentences.

Does your world have different races of people? If so do they get on with one another? On Beinan, our skin color varies from very fair to very dark.  Our eyes naturally range from grey to blue to green.

“Brown eye syndrome” is a genetic disorder that destroys two of the five cone receptors in our eyes and creates significant sight loss.  It is characterized by symptomatic darkening of our irises.  It lasts ten generations from initial exposure and is caused by high level and/or chronic exposure to radioactive argene (known to you as thorium 232).

According to modern science, nara trees are able to filter out and limit the effects of argene on our bodies with the greatest number of sufferers being in Xi-Nan Fang, the southern continent where most mining of argun ore (from which argene is extracted) occurs and where the fewest trees remain.

The non-noble houses of Skeinera, Croften, and Plover, along with lesser noble house Ana constitute the greatest number of brown eye syndrome sufferers.  Not surprisingly, the greatest number of Lord Yelu’s supporters come from these houses and suffer from brown eye syndrome.

What is the technology level for your world? Beinarians are a space-faring people who rarely venture beyond the confines of our world anymore.  Though astro-engineering and astro-navigation are the hallmark skills of house Xing-li, I am the first Beinarian to leave our solar system in generations.

Though we possess many weapons that most would consider “advanced” like laser épées  (Lord Knight Corann of house Ten-Ar first met my grandfather, then Prince Kendric, in Kendric’s laser épée class) and laser crossbows, what we consider “heritage” weapons made of silver, steel, and wood all hold a special place in the Beinarian heart.  These were the weapons we used during our tens of thousands of yen-ars (what we call one revolution around our sun) of blood feuds on our original home world of A672E92 Quintus.  Because they use less advanced technology, heritage weapons notoriously escape detection in standard security weapon scans, making them perfect for assassinations of one’s political rivals.

Does your world have any supernatural/mystical beings? Most Beinarians worship the triple goddess of Banamu Hehe, Abka Biya, and Abka Gahun.

Author notes:

 

Book(s) in which this character appears:

Peers of Beinan series book one, “The Great Succession Crisis,” (prologue, epilogue, narrator of book); Peers of Beinan series book two, “The Ghosts of the Past.”  Peers of Beinan series book three (release date 2015), “Princess Anyu Returns.”

Author name:  Laurel A. Rockefeller

Website/Blog/Author pages etc. http://www.peersofbeinan.com,

http://www.amazon.com/Laurel-A.-Rockefeller/e/B008YVJJFE/

Laurel A. Rockefeller

Author, Peers of Beinan series
http://www.peersofbeinan.com

You might also like https://libraryoferana.wordpress.com/2013/07/28/the-challenges-of-a-blind-author-follow-up-laurel/

Laurel is kindly donating copies of her books to my birthday and Valentine Giveaway.

https://libraryoferana.wordpress.com/2014/01/13/birthday-and-valentine-giveaway-8-14-feb-2014/

3 thoughts on “Character Interview Number Five – Princess Anyu

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.