Tags

, ,

Hi and welcome to the Library of Erana, a place of words and of their magic. Words are power, they are knowledge and they are freedom.

Welcome to Miv

Please tell us a little about yourself. I’m Welsh and have always been self-employed. I sold my last business in 2004 and decided LA would be a great place to fritter away my nest egg. That plan has worked well! I came here in 2005 and began writing film reviews for Yahoo! and Entertainment Magazine in 2009. I now have 200+ online.

Please tell us a little about your writing – for example genre, title, etc. The title of my debut novel is How I Exiled My Inner Bitch and it’s multi-genre. The title makes it clear it’s female-centric (Chick Lit) there are two teenage girls who are major characters (Young Adult), and it also deals with the psychological issues that we carry with us from our childhood (General Fiction). It also has a message about the use of prescription drugs.

Where can readers find your book? http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/18243052-how-i-exiled-my-inner-bitch and will be appearing on Amazon soon.

How long have you been writing and what, if anything, made you choose the genre in which you write? I have been writing for over 20 years and sold a comedy drama to BBC TV in the 90s. I was never conscious of choosing a genre. I just write down what comes into my head. I have been told my screenplays are funny but dark, but how dark can anything be if it makes you laugh?

Who or what are your inspirations/influences? I don’t get inspired by other writers, but I do get inspired by people. The more I get to know them, the more fascinated I become. I like to find out everything I can and then create a profile of who I believe they REALLY are. And do I use any of them in my writing? You bet!  I would also add that I have yet to meet a person in the U.S. that I haven’t already met in the U.K.

Can you name a positive experience from your writing and a negative one? I would say my most positive writing experience since moving to the U.S. was when Forest Whitaker’s production company optioned one of my screenplays. My most negative experience was when they dumped it!

With the rise of e-books do you still publish in print as well?  Yes.

Is this medium important and why? I have never read an Ebook as I’d think I was still at work. The curl-up mob is alive, well, and buying paperbacks on Amazon.

Do you listen to music or watch TV whilst you write? No. Silence must be absolute in my garret.

Books are important, why is this the case?  A person could educate themselves, simply by reading.

What can a book provide that say a video game cannot? Books give us the words so we can use our imagination. Even if it’s an instruction manual about a screwdriver and nails, we still have to imagine the screwdriver and nails. Video games leave us with nothing to do.

Can you give us a silly fact about yourself? I’m spoiled for choice! How about I pluck the hairs on my legs? I usually do it when I’m on the phone. If only they knew!

Moving to Los Angeles from Cardiff was a quite overwhelming experience, mainly because of the driving, which sounds strange, but it’s true. It’s not possible to get around LA without a car, as it’s so spread out, and there’s no city center. (Please note, I now use US spelling, apart from the word theatre, they use both versions here). Every area in L.A. is a city of its own, and Hollywood is one of them. I live in West Hollywood, which is in between Hollywood and Beverly Hills, and it’s a very gay area, which I’m not. So no dates!

As I’ve already mentioned, people are universal, but I would say the one difference between the Americans and the Brits is the glass-half-full syndrome. Americans have a very positive attitude, which I believe is because they are all descendants of the pioneers who came here all those years ago. I arrived on a 747 with two suitcases, and if things didn’t work out, I could have gone straight back. They didn’t have that option.

If anyone’s thinking about moving out here, please get in touch.  You too could end up writing film reviews, and the sunshine is really something!

http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/7065678.Miv_Evans

http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/18243052-how-i-exiled-my-inner-bitch

https://twitter.com/innerbitchisms

https://www.facebook.com/howiexiled?ref=tn_tnmn

http://howiexiledmyinnerbitch.wordpress.com/

EDIT – BOOK IS NOW LIVE http://www.amazon.com/How-Exiled-Inner-Bitch-Psychological/dp/1484893786

